It’s Off…

Open Yours Too #2

So I sent off my package as part of Open Yours Too trade 02. I had so much fun doing this I will definitely be doing it again in the future. The things I included were: a letter, a felted flower pin, a ball of hand-dyed yarn, a little pack of personalized handmade note cards, and a handmade paper-bag scrapbook. The scrapbook took the most time and turned out awesomely (is that a word?) if I do say so myself.

I’ve talked about the felted flower and the yarn previously. For me, there’s really nothing to making cards (once you have an idea) so I can’t really talk about that here. The scrapbook on the other hand… it was made from 3 paper bags laid on top of each other with the bottoms at alternating ends. I then bound them together using my little paper sewing machine. It’s a good thing I planned to cover this since I can’t sew straight to save my life and the recipient is very capable in that regard. Anyway, the pages were created using all kinds of things but mostly rubber stamped images. The covers were made using wood veneer (Papa Urchin’s idea) and then embossed with copper in a harlequin pattern. I was really happy with how that turned out. The inside of the book was decorated with vellum, polyshrink, watercolors, copper embossing and little bits. The cool thing about using paper bags is that the bottom part of the bag becomes a flap and the top of the bag becomes a pocket. For photos I printed copies of images at dear birthday which was a nice way to personalize it. Hopefully, she’ll replace them with other photos. The whole thing was tied shut with maroonish ribbon.

After everything was together I had to take two photos — I wish Papa Urchin had been here for that part — to submit and they will be posted on flickr along with photos of all the other packages (as they are delivered). I put everything in a black leather box I found at Target and then sent it priority mail. Now we’ll just wait and see if she likes it…

flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives