One Skein

My Fiber Stash

So for the One Skein Exchange they sent each of us a list of questions to answer for our secret pal. I sent the answers to my pal but I thought it might be fun to post them here too. additions to my email are in italics

  1. Which yarn is most like your personality (you can be specific or general with your answer– brand, type, color, fiber, whatever…)?
    Somehow, I didn’t answer this in my email, I guess since I don’t know the answer. Maybe this question is a little too abstract for me.
  2. What is your favorite color yarn to knit/crochet with?
    My favorite color is green but I really like multihued yarn – either all different colors or many variations of the same color.
  3. Have you ever used variegated, or magic, yarns?
    My Fiber StashYes, I use variegated yarn for a lot of projects. I get intimidated by thing like lacework and cables so I find that the color variation adds a feeling of texture to garments even if they are just created with stockinette stitch. I am getting more confident with pattern though.
  4. Do you tend to favor certain fibers when choosing yarns?
    I mostly like natural fibers and although cotton is natural I tend to use more wool (from all kinds of animals).
  5. Do you prefer to work with center-pull or traditionally wound balls of yarn?
    Regardless of the way the skein is packaged I nearly always ball my yarn. That was how I was taught so that is what I do – even though my Grandmother tells me you don’t have to do it that way anymore.
  6. Have you ever worked with organic yarns or are you interested in trying them?
    I have used an organic yarn to dye but I’ve never knitted anything with it. I believe in organic farming – we eat almost exclusively organic food – so I’d be happy to try organic yarn.
  7. How many and what projects have you made in the last year?
    Wow, well this isn’t necessarily a fair representation since in the last year I was pregnant while caring for a two year old and then caring for a newborn and a three year old. I’d say I’ve finished maybe 6-10 items in the last year, although very few garments. I make a lot of stuff for kids (mine and others) and other decorative things. I’ve been into felting recently.
  8. Will you be knitting any gifts this year?
    I will definitely be knitting gifts, I have some on needles right now.
  9. What is your favorite one skein project?
    To be honest I haven’t knit any of them yet. I really think the cupcakes are adorable. I’ll probably make one of the totes/handbags or bowls first.
  10. How much yarn do you have in your stash and how do you store it?
    Hmm, will my husband be reading this??? My Fiber StashI store my stash in a rubbermaid container and I think it’s not too bad. I have a whole bunch of Lion Brand Homespun that was a very large impulse buy (and I have no idea what I’ll do with it) but everything else is pretty much left over from or intended for a project. reference the pictures in this post
  11. Do you have a yarn in your stash that you love so much you can never use it or part with it?
    I don’t think so.
  12. Do you knit less or differently in the summer?
    I think I might knit more in the summer because we go on vacation and there is someone else to help watch the kids. Plus I always give my niece a sweater for her birthday and it’s in August.
  13. Do you belong to any knitting groups (online or offline)?
    I don’t belong to any groups. Actually I am a memeber of the One Skein knit-along.
flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives