As Promised…

Card Box

… here are the pics of the gift we gave my grandmother for her birthday. It’s a lunchbox style tin that I decorated and then filled with cards. Once again, it was not my idea but was really great to make. My grandmother loves to send handmade cards but my aunt who used to make them for her stopped. Last year I realized, I bet she’d like it if I made her some. So I gave her a set and she was very pleased. That makes gift-giving for her easier.

Card Box

Anyway, I thought she might like a little box to keep her cards in before she sends them. The inside has a little pocket in the lid for stamps and it has six dividers to keep her organized. I didn’t write on them but I imagine they’ll say things like Thank You, Birthday, Holiday, etc. Like I said before, I filled it with cards — I made six varieties and made five of each to make 30 cards total — then I added a book of stamps in the lid. I think it turned out well and she really liked it. There are photos of the cards at my flickr.

Card Box

*** UPDATE 08/15/2006 ***
People have been wondering where the tins came from. They are manufactured by Provo Craft and were ordered from Creative Xpress. Creative Xpress is having a sale on ProvoCraft tins through 08/17. This is the actual tin used but they have a variety of types. Make sure you show me what you create!

4 Responses to “As Promised…”


  1. 1 Adriana August 5, 2006 at 7:50 pm

    What a fantastic idea! The pocket for stamps is just fantastic. And it all looks so pretty.

    I love it, you just need to get your little lunchbox, a pen and a lovely cup of tea and you’re ready to write away!

  2. 2 Cassie August 11, 2006 at 7:28 am

    I love that idea. Where did you find the box to decorate? I might “steal” this idea and use it for some Christmas presents!

  3. 3 Heather August 14, 2006 at 11:32 am

    That turned out really great! I have all of my cards just shoved in a plastic box. Where did you get the tin? Maybe I should try one. 🙂


  1. 1 brudder Trackback on December 23, 2006 at 1:39 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives