Cabling Away

Aran Pullover Progress

Lest you think this is a cooking blog I present progress on the aran pullover. This is two repeats of the cable chart and I’m wondering why I waited so long to try cables. They really aren’t so bad as long as you follow the directions. I don’t even have a cable needle, I’m just using a spare circular needle and sliding the stitches on one end and knitting them off the other. The pattern comes from Knitting for Baby by Melanie Falick and Krisitin Nicholas — did you know she has a blog? Anyway, the sweater is going well though I need to speed up a little since the project list of things to be completed before Christmas is, well let’s just say, ambitious.

7 Responses to “Cabling Away”


  1. 1 emily October 20, 2006 at 10:58 am

    so impressive 🙂
    I’m dazzled by knitters…in particular, cable knitters.

  2. 2 Blair October 22, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    Oh my cables! I love them so much. I long to get out my cable needle, but I promised myself I would get a few (make that several) things done first.

  3. 3 Kelly October 23, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    wow, that’s really gorgeous! I, sadly, don’t know how to knit. But seeing this, I wish I did!

  4. 4 martha October 23, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Oh -I love cables too! the texture….and they are so fun to knit. I never use a cable needle either – usually I just let them hang there, if the yarn is sticky enough.
    This is going to be a beautiful sweater.

  5. 5 kathy October 25, 2006 at 10:08 am

    I was at the knitting shop yesterday picking out my next project. I kept touching the cable samples. Too scary for a newbie like me. Looking forward to watching it unfold.

  6. 6 Sarah October 30, 2006 at 11:38 am

    Have you tried cabling without a needle at all. Grumperina has some directions on how to do it on her site, http://www.grumperina.com/cables.htm. I don’t have vast amounts of experience with cabling but in my opinion cabling without any needle at all is the way to go. Give it a try.

  7. 7 Rebecca October 30, 2006 at 1:43 pm

    I’m a cabling girl myself! Isn’t it fun? So, I am assuming this teeny thing is for a baby or is it just your swatch? Don’t forget to wash it and let it dry to see if the yarn “blooms” . Mine usually does and so I go with the after washing gauge.


  1. 1 Stressed « mama urchin Trackback on November 8, 2006 at 12:13 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives