Something About Homemade

So I am one of those people — the ones that insist that their children wear homemade costumes each year for Halloween. I think it’s probably because as children, my siblings and I always wore homemade costumes too. This would be no big deal except for my total lack of machine sewing skills. When Katrina was an infant she was a ladybug and I hand stitched her costume, with no pattern, from felt. The next year my mom and I made her a lion costume which is adorable. Unfortunately when I say my mom and I what I really mean is mostly my mom made the costume. After that she was less then thrilled to help me the next year when Katrina was a fairy. Luckily, the only thing I really had to sew for the fairy costume was the skirt and I managed to sew that on the sewing machine. Stefan and my mom were later amazed to find I did the whole thing without the pressure foot — see I told you I can’t sew. Well, this year I got a reprieve. Tristan was able to fit into the lion costume from two years ago…

Little Lion The Prince wants ME?

and Katrina decided to be Cinderella. The Cinderella costume was homemade by a friend for her daughter last year. When she heard of our budding princess she offered to let us borrow the costume. Thank heavens because there is no way I could make anything nearly as good, even with the pressure foot.

7 Responses to “Something About Homemade”


  1. 1 Blair November 1, 2006 at 7:44 pm

    Can I say I only wish I had the patience to make wonderful costumes like these. WOW! I happened to have a very easy costume year, Ian’s still fit from last year and Emma wanted to be a black cat (all black plus one homemade black tail from Dad’s socks).

  2. 2 manda November 2, 2006 at 6:22 pm

    Wow! The costumes are wonderful! That lion is fantastic and so is the ladybird (isn’t it funny how we call them ladybirds and you call them ladybugs?) and the fairy, oh they’re all just beautiful!
    I didn’t dress Bella up this year but I wish I had now!


  1. 1 Happy Halloween! « mama urchin Trackback on October 31, 2007 at 8:44 pm
  2. 2 Halloween « mama urchin Trackback on November 3, 2010 at 2:17 pm
  3. 3 Trick or Treat « mama urchin Trackback on November 1, 2011 at 8:44 am
  4. 4 Trick or Treat | mama urchin Trackback on March 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives