At Long Last

Here are the close-ups:

Aran Pullover

Really I think it is the nicest thing I’ve made yet and it’s given me a lot of confidence to try cables elsewhere — like on some Christmas presents. Tristan has already gotten a few compliments when wearing it and the owner of my favorite LYS said I deserved kudos so that was nice. Even the finishing turned out well which sometimes is a bit messy. All in all I couldn’t be more pleased with it.

Aran Pullover - Detail

Pattern: Aran Pullover from Knitting for Baby by Melanie Falick and Kristin Nicholas
Yarn: Cascade 220, in color 4011
Yardage: three 220 yard skeins
Needles: US size 6 and 8
Gauge: 16 st/4 inches
Modifications: n/a

9 Responses to “At Long Last”


  1. 1 Marie November 30, 2006 at 7:36 am

    it’s beautiful!!

  2. 2 laura November 30, 2006 at 9:39 am

    that’s gorgeous! i have been thinking of knitting for babies and small children lately, and you are inspiring me to knit them some cables! 🙂

  3. 3 eireann November 30, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    wow! that is really lovely! I wish I could do cables. I just can’t get them, for the life of me.

  4. 4 Kirsty November 30, 2006 at 10:09 pm

    I have noticed your name everywhere on other blogs in the comments so I thought I must drop by. Love that jumper I know how to knit I just wish I had the patience to do more of it. I LOOOOVE the finished items but its just the process which holds me up!!! Enjoyed reading some of your archieves. I’ll be back!!

  5. 5 martha December 1, 2006 at 11:21 pm

    It’s just perfect. The stitches, the color, everything. I have been thinking I should knit this sweater for a few years and I think you just convinced me to do it.

  6. 6 Kelly December 1, 2006 at 11:49 pm

    Magnificent. Beautiful!

  7. 7 Kristin Nicholas December 4, 2006 at 10:12 pm

    Totally lovely job – and the finishing looks beautiful. I have always loved that sweater – it is a great one for a beginner “cabler” because the repeats are even. Congrats. Can’t wait to see more.

    Kristin

  8. 8 kathy December 7, 2006 at 10:35 am

    This is gorgeous. I like your yarn choice. The heathered color really complements the cable pattern. A great accomplishment.


  1. 1 Comments « mama urchin Trackback on December 11, 2006 at 8:00 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives