Meathead

Hats

Larissa over at stitch marker is working on a knitting book and one of the patterns she is going to include is for a hat she calls the meathead hat. She set up a knit along for a bunch of people to test the pattern and make some samples to be photographed for the book. It turns out the book is about knitting together so the knit along was a perfect idea with the only downside being that Larissa will have to pick the 18 hats to be in the book from all the wonderful hats everyone knit.

The gist of the knit along is that you knit the hat but then embellish it in your own way — making each hat individual. I am really trying to make a lot of Christmas gifts this year and this hat is so quick and cute that I’ve made a whole bunch for people on my list. So now that you’ve seen them all together let me introduce them individually:

Holly

Holly
Pattern: Meathead Hat (small)
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky, in color M-10 Creme
Yardage: one 125 yard skeins
Needles: US size 15
Gauge: 4.5 st/inch
Modifications: embellished with felted holly leaves and berries
Flower
Pattern: Meathead Hat (small)
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky, in color M-16 Seafoam
Yardage: one 125 yard skeins
Needles: US size 15
Gauge: 4.5 st/inch
Modifications: embellished with felted flower
Flower

Button

Button
Pattern: Meathead Hat (large)
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky, in color M-151 Chocolate Souffle
Yardage: two 125 yard skeins
Needles: US size 15
Gauge: 4.5 st/inch
Modifications: embellished with pottery button
Silver
Pattern: Meathead Hat (large)
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky, in color M-03 Grey Heather
Yardage: two 125 yard skeins
Needles: US size 15
Gauge: 4.5 st/inch
Modifications: to be embellished with a button from the school where my brother coaches football
Silver

13 Responses to “Meathead”


  1. 1 dawbis December 2, 2006 at 8:54 am

    these are certainly the cutest little hats i have ever seen! you did such a wonderful job too

  2. 2 Jeremy December 2, 2006 at 10:39 am

    I especially love the “holly” meathead. I think I may make one for myself, it is so cute. How did you attach the holly leaves and berries. I made a meathead and my embelishment was a felted flower and although it is attached I dont feel it is secure enough. I was wondering how you did yours.

  3. 3 Belinda December 2, 2006 at 6:53 pm

    The hats look fab, I love the pic of them stacked on top of each other on flickr. I think the one with the holly is my favourite too. Closely followed by the pottery button…great job!! I seem to have missed the boat on this one…I will have to keep my ear to the ground for the next round.

  4. 4 Connie December 4, 2006 at 8:39 am

    those hats are great, and their colors together are really fresh. i like the new masthead. yay winter

  5. 6 emily December 4, 2006 at 10:00 pm

    These are incredible!!!!
    hooray, you 🙂

  6. 7 abby December 6, 2006 at 1:51 pm

    Wow! THose hats are just the cutest things ever!

  7. 8 kathy December 7, 2006 at 10:39 am

    Fun pattern. I like the seafoam best.

  8. 9 Blair December 8, 2006 at 9:39 am

    seriously, totally, absolutely adorable!!! (they look great in your new banner)

  9. 10 Adriana December 11, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    Lovely. I especially like the holly one. Very festive!

    Your new design looks great too! I’m off to catch up with your news 🙂

  10. 11 Kim October 10, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Where can I see the pattern for this hat? It’s so cute!


  1. 1 For a Good Cause « mama urchin Trackback on March 7, 2007 at 9:19 pm
  2. 2 Almost Famous « mama urchin Trackback on April 10, 2008 at 5:15 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives