Socks 101

Socks 101

I’m still amazed that I knit a pair of socks. They aren’t perfect — specifically, I didn’t pick up enough stitches when I turned the heel — but they look pretty good. I will definitely be knitting more socks in the future. I think I’ll probably even knit another pair of these for the test-along. I was noticing the small size of children’s feet this morning, boy I’m a sucker for a quick-knit.

Socks 101

Pattern: Socks 101 (women’s size medium)
Yarn: Manos del Uruguay Wool, in color 112 (Moss)
Yardage: less than one 138 yard skein
Needles: US size 10
Gauge: 4 st/inch
Modifications: I’m fairly certain I did not execute the heel exactly as written. Now that I’ve done a pair I think I’ll understand the instructions better next time. I knit 8″ before the toe decrease, next time I’ll do less and probably make the smaller size to fit my feet better.

9 Responses to “Socks 101”


  1. 1 Jeremy January 7, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Your Socks 1010 look great. I love the color. My LYS only had solids in stock and most of them were rather dark, more difficult for picking up stitches so I opted for Uranium (kind of a moss green0. The color isn’t right in the photo on my blog. I only have some minor finishing to do and then I am done with my first pair too!

  2. 2 joleen January 8, 2007 at 12:14 am

    wow, i’m impressed! i couldn’t knit a sock if my life depended on it.

  3. 3 Connie January 8, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Maybe you can teach a class to college freshmen entitled Socks 101. I kinda smirked when I read that. They look nice and cozy

  4. 4 Blair January 8, 2007 at 9:46 am

    I love them! Very impressive, cause I stop every time at the heel and usually never go back. I’m hoping to turn them into leg warmers.

  5. 5 Morgan January 9, 2007 at 1:56 am

    Yeah! They are done. Adorable!

  6. 6 A Fanciful Twist January 9, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    I have noticed we frequent many of the same blogvilles. So, I am here to say hello. And, also, when it comes to me and yarn…I tried to crochet a hat, it is a bit too small. Maybe It could have fit 22 years ago. Then I tried a sock. I think my Bananas enjoy sharing the little Banana Warmer I ended up with. I think I should try to learn something here, from you. Will keep peeking in. Vanessa. ps: I am making the hugest blanket in the planet right now. I think I will be finished with it by 2011 if I work on it a little everyday…Whew


  1. 1 WIP Friday « mama urchin Trackback on February 22, 2007 at 5:41 pm
  2. 2 2007 - Let’s Review « mama urchin Trackback on January 4, 2008 at 4:30 pm
  3. 3 Almost Famous « mama urchin Trackback on April 10, 2008 at 5:16 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives