A Piece of Pizza Pie

Proofing Dough

I don’t know why we ever order pizza from, well, you know where. Making pizza at home is easy, I mean really super easy. We use this recipe from Fine Cooking which is great because it gives instructions for freezing the dough to use later. Dough always amazes me — flour, salt, water, and yeast and presto change-o you’ve got bread. I topped my pizza with garlic scape pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, roasted red peppers, romano, and mozzarella. And yes, it was as good as it looks, actually better.

Pizza
11 Responses to “A Piece of Pizza Pie”


  1. 1 Papa Urchin January 18, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    In the summer we like to throw these on a hot charcoal grill to give the crust a nice wood fired flavor. Cooking the toppings on the grill often leads to a burned bottom around here so I generally cook the crust on the grill then we top it and put it under the broiler.

    Also if you are using a pizza stone, tiles or similar I use a small cookie sheet as a peel and use a little bit of cornmeal on the peel and stone to prevent sticking.

  2. 2 Alicia A. January 18, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    Mmmmmm… look at Papa and his grilling and baking tips.

    We grill pizzas all the time in the summer too. Come on summer!

  3. 4 Heather T. January 20, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    I’m feeling hungry now! You take excellent pictures!!!

  4. 5 connie January 21, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    that looks perfect! plus the Newcastle… what a wonderful meal

  5. 6 molly January 22, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    yum! why don’t i make my own dough more often??!! thanks for the inspiration.

  6. 7 christina January 29, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    homemade is amazing but with a Newcastle it is even better. that is always my beer of choice with pizza. i am not sure why.

  7. 8 heather February 3, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    you are so right, we do we always reach for the phone? i’ll try my hand at this in the next few days, and yes, the new castle will be included. thank you!

  8. 9 heather February 3, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    oops…WHY do we always…very tired.

  9. 10 sarah February 19, 2007 at 10:54 am

    The pizza looks fabulous! We don’t call out for pizza often, but we do eat super cheap frozen pizzas far more than I’d like to admit. Luckily I have on the meal plan this week to make homemade pizza.

    I had a question about the dough recipe link you shared…
    Have you ever used the Rapid Rise yeast with it? I don’t think it should make a difference, but I don’t know much about the science of baking.


  1. 1 Made From Scratch :: Pizza « mama urchin Trackback on February 20, 2008 at 11:26 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives