Back in Business

At one point in the movie Cars Doc Hudson, played by Paul Newman, says Hot snot! We’re back in business. At least, that’s what I think he says and regardless it is an accurate description of my current situation given the cold, fever, pink eye, and my determination to get back to normal. Okay, maybe that was too much info but we seem to be a congested bunch around here.

Katrina's Quilt

Anyway, it’s not like I’ve been idle it’s just I don’t have much to show for it. I’m fairly certain you guys aren’t interested in seeing my partly reorganized guest room closet. One thing I’ve been working on is figuring out the details for Tristan’s big-boy quilt. My mom makes each of her grandchildren a quilt for their second birthday and since Tristan is in his second year she asked me to start thinking about it. With Katrina’s quilt, pictured above and below, we tried to make sure it wasn’t too juvenile and would have some longevity. I imagine it won’t be cool enough during the teen years but I think it could be brought back out when she’s an adult. Anyway, we chose reproduction 1930s fabrics and while some of the prints are juvenile the overall read of the quilt isn’t as much – at least I don’t think so.

Katrina's Quilt

For Tristan’s I was hoping to accomplish the same thing but have been struggling a bit. I really liked the Michael Miller prints we used for the tablecloth at his birthday but didn’t want to commit to a long-term cowboy room. And speaking of the room, we’re working with the established color palette of the nursery. And the pattern, ack! I was just overwhelmed. And then the other day it hit me. Log Cabin, modernized. Something like Lisa‘s fantastic pillows. Yes, yes, this could work. Then I was browsing through a fabric catalog at my parent’s house and found these (just the all over prints like the dots, stripes, and diamonds). Perfectly retro/vintage but still fun — a lot of what we were considering was very drab — since he is a little boy after all. We can mix in some cowboys and spaceboys, and trains too but not in abundance. Now I just need to find a local fabric shop that has these in stock so I can check out the colorways.

9 Responses to “Back in Business”


  1. 1 Morgan January 31, 2007 at 3:44 am

    I love the quilt and I am such a sucker for wrought-iron beds! Make sure you show us Tristans quilt when it’s done. Can’t wait to see it!

  2. 2 sarah January 31, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Hi I came across your blog while surfing, and saw your post for today. My daughter has the same Ikea bed and I cannot figure out for the life of me a good way of having a blanket on it that fits properly. Do you really tuck it in like in the pictures? Thanks so much Sarah ūüôā

  3. 3 Grace January 31, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    That quilt is amazing!

  4. 4 lyn February 1, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    That quilt is beautiful.
    Can I have your Mum please ? I live in a very pleasant part of the U.k, old DEvon thatched cottages, cream teas, rolling green hills and all that – do you think she’d be interested ?.

  5. 5 Monica February 5, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    What a wonderful quilt! It’s not babish at all!! I’d say sophisticated and romantic, and oh I love it.

  6. 6 amandajean February 6, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    lovely quilt!!! and I like the stuffed scottie dogs as well. Did you make them?
    I am a fairly new reader and your blog is one of my current favorites!


  1. 1 WIP Friday « mama urchin Trackback on March 24, 2007 at 9:59 pm
  2. 2 Un-Knitting « mama urchin Trackback on April 18, 2007 at 9:50 pm
  3. 3 From Grandmom « mama urchin Trackback on November 29, 2007 at 10:34 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives