The Love Continues…

These are for Katrina’s preschool teachers. Last year she insisted on giving them the BIGGEST heart of chocolate she could find. This year I planned ahead a little better. I just love these re-purposed frappuccinos. Wouldn’t it be so cute for a little girl filled with four different kids of hair accessories?

For Katrina's Teachers

Some tips if you plan to make these at home. 1 — Get the super sticky tape to attach the paper to the cardboard and the bottles (if you choose to embellish them). 2 — After draining the bottles and peeling off the labels use Goo Gone to get the sticky stuff off. Then send those bottles through the dishwasher. Wait for them to dry completely before you put anything in them.

Katrina helped a lot with these since they are for her teachers and she was very able to help. If you have a child helping you just keep in mind that the super sticky tape is just that and once you put the paper down there is no changing your mind. Each side takes a piece of 5 inch by 4 inch paper. For the handles I cut another 5″X4″ piece but this time I used cardstock. Trim it so the 5″ side is a little less than 5″ so it slides in easily and fold it in half. Then I just traced the cut-outs for the handles and cut them out with scissors. I’ve seen these without the handle done and this looks nice too especially if the color of the handle coordinates with the paper you’ve chosen. For the little triangle pieces on the side I cut two 2″ squares and then cut them in half along the diagonal. Make sure you tape them down before the side pieces. Embellish the sides as you like, fill your bottles and voilà, an impressive yet easy little gift.

whipup Whip Up folks — I’d be happy to be considered for the Reform School Prize.

14 Responses to “The Love Continues…”


  1. 1 Papa Urchin February 16, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Just remember to plan ahead. Drinking all those Fraps at once will wire you.

  2. 2 Joanna February 16, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Super cute idea! Gives me an excuse to go buy some frappes!

  3. 4 jennpal February 16, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    This idea is awesome! what a happy colorful sugar filled fun gift!

  4. 5 tagurity February 16, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    holy crap this is amazing! it always bothers me that the glass is easily recycled but not the cardboard (in my area only corrugated is recycled). I run into this problem a lot… but with beer bottles. this is adorable – your style reminds me a little of stacy claire boyd’s newer stationery pieces.

  5. 6 martha February 16, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    These are amazing! Look out Martha Stewart.

  6. 8 heather February 17, 2007 at 11:10 am

    What an incredible idea! Gets me thinking ahead (thank you) to next years holiday season. I have a bit of a problem parting with any glass botttle. Even recycling them wasteful. Thanks for the project possibilities!

  7. 9 andrea February 18, 2007 at 12:44 am

    LOVE this idea! I wish I had seen this before V-Day. Super cute, thanks for sharing.

  8. 10 Candace February 18, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    ohmygosh this idea is fantastic!! Ugh, I wish I had seen this post last week, it would’ve been perfect for some friends of mine. But I’ll defintely keep it in mind for next year. Thanks for posting!

  9. 11 Wendy Updegraff February 18, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    WOW- great idea, they turned out wonderful…thanks for sharing

  10. 12 Regina February 22, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Love, love, love this! What a great idea- Great job!

  11. 13 meg February 26, 2007 at 11:33 am

    This is so great!! It always kills me to get rid of the Frappuccino bottles because they just seem perfect for *something*. Thanks for the inspiration!

  12. 14 Adriana February 26, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    What a fantastic idea! You’re so clever 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives