One Year

Yup, one year ago today I started this blog and now one year later I can’t imagine what I would do without it. You guys and your blogs have inspired me to try and create new things. Plus, just knowing there are other people in the world who care about craft and believe in handmade has been very supportive for me. I’ve found friends all over the globe and get to have a conversation with them every day. How awesome is that?

Some Of My Favorites

So enough of the sappy stuff and on with the party. And what is a party without gifts? Yes, we cannot forget gifts. But no gifts for me, gifts for you. Here’s how this is going to work — leave me a comment telling me your favorite thing I’ve made in the last year (here’s a flickr set to help) by 1:00 PM Saturday, March 3 (Eastern time). Then my lovely assistant will help me select some number of names as winners. What could you win? Well, that’s for me to know and you to find out…

27 Responses to “One Year”


  1. 1 Cassie February 28, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Jenn-I’d have to say the the thing I’ve liked best that you’ve made is the Popcorn sweater. I LOVE it. Once I get better at knitting, I’m going to make Brenna one.

  2. 2 Sarah February 28, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    I love your valentine mail boxes and the awesome candy containers you made with the frapuccino bottles and carriers and those hats in the post above — how cute are they!? — and the sweater you made for N. All of those things made me smile at the ingenuity, creativity and skill that went into them. Congratulations on your one year bloggiversary! Here’s to many more!

  3. 3 Papa Urchin February 28, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Hmm, I definitely love all the food, but I have to say my favorite was the bunny slippers. https://mamaurchin.wordpress.com/2006/04/20/easter/

  4. 4 Amy February 28, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Actually I’m definitely going with those little hats. I just think babies would look like little acorns with a lovely hat like that!

    I just found your blog last week… SO glad I did!!

  5. 5 Alicia A. February 28, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    I’d have to say my favorite is that wonderful little purple bumpy sweater! wink wink. smile smile.

    Really- you don’t have to include me- I’ve gotten plenty of your goodies lately. But I really wanted to say congrats and I’m glad you’re here. And thank you so much for posting with me everyday this month!

  6. 6 amandajean February 28, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    happy blogiversary! I was wondering today how long you have been blogging…now I know. 😉
    I would have to say my favorite thing you’ve made is the frapuccino bottles in the revamped carriers.
    And I also like the bunny slippers.
    And the stack of hats is great!
    Oh, and the new little blue dress!

  7. 7 Siew February 28, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    I’ve just recently found your blog and am having fun catching up on all the entries. I’d have to say the red sweater with the Popcorn yarn is FABULOUS. I want to make one just like it but have to finish up too many other projects before I get it on the needles.

  8. 8 joanna February 28, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Happy one year! I enjoy your blog. My fave thing of yours is the felted pea. So cute.

  9. 9 Jennifer February 28, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    The pea was my favorite. It inspired me to find that pattern and make one for my son. Love your blog! Happy blog-iversary.

  10. 10 Stefanie February 28, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    I just recently discovered your blog so I am still in love with your V-day gift sets those were genius and so pretty!

    Though looking at your flickr page made me super hungry your food photos look straight out of a cook book! Happy Blog-iversary!

  11. 11 Belinda February 28, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Happy blogiversary! I loved the felted pea and the meathead hats.

  12. 12 robiewankenobie February 28, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    the valentine milk bottles. hands down.

  13. 13 Leslie February 28, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    I love the photo album in the Altoid tin, but even MORE, I love the felted pea! Too cute!

  14. 14 larissa March 1, 2007 at 1:17 am

    I adore the pea. But I also have to give you props for that Aran pullover and the stuffed squash. Mmmmmmm.

  15. 15 amy March 1, 2007 at 3:15 am

    I love the felted bag you made for your friend Casey… but I have to say the food always make my mouth water as well! You soups look incredible.
    amy

  16. 16 amy March 1, 2007 at 3:19 am

    although having said that I also have your valentine’s day bottles permanently linked in my favourites as well! They were so sweet…

  17. 17 Gretchen March 1, 2007 at 7:41 am

    This is hard. Can I choose three? I love, love, love the pompom sweaters. I don’t usually go for yarn with so much *stuff* in it, but those sweaters are just too cute.

    For across-the-board do-ability, the Valentine bottles are wonderful.

    And the pea? I have that saved on my bloglines so that each time I bring up your feed I see its smiling little face.

  18. 18 Alissa Dasta Coletta March 1, 2007 at 8:26 am

    It’s got to be the hats – just love them! But the bunny slipper rank up there too. Thanks for your blog – a bright spot to stop at!

  19. 19 Crystal March 1, 2007 at 11:00 am

    I just found your site today! I love, love, love the little hat with the holly on it. So cute.

  20. 20 Emily March 1, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Hi. I just found your blog today. You make some beautiful things. My favorite is the little pea. It’s adorable!

  21. 21 Magusita March 1, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Happy anniversary!

    And I love -LOVE- the little pea – it’s so cute!

  22. 22 Shin March 1, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Congratulations!

  23. 23 Robert Mahar March 2, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    I see we’re both celebrating 1st birthdays! Congratulations to you!

  24. 24 dawbis March 3, 2007 at 10:34 am

    i’m a little late, but happy one year blog day 🙂 you’re pretty awesome yourself 🙂

  25. 25 twobadmice March 3, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    I discovered your blog recently… through Whiplash?
    Gee. I don’t know but I know that I love it, and all the wonderful things you have made.
    I am especially fond of the awesome teacher gift bottles.
    But those bunny slippers are amazing. Ooh. Can’t choose. Too beautiful. Everything.
    (Have I turned into Yoda?) Happy Happy Blog-a-Versary!

  26. 26 sUsAn March 10, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    I’m a bit late but happy happy blogiversary!!! Here’s to a tremendously fun year 2!


  1. 1 Bad Blogger « mama urchin Trackback on June 11, 2007 at 9:22 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives