The Magic of Editing

So one thing I highly recommend doing occasionally is getting really lost in flickr. There is so much amazing stuff there. Find some photographs you like and start stalking the photographer. Well, not really but if you keep an eye on their photostream you can learn a lot. For me, one of my favorite flickr photographers is Nichole Van. I love the way she captures her subjects and the colors of her photographs. If any of you use Photoshop you may know that there is a way to record common actions — actually you can do this in a lot of programs. Nichole found herself repeating the same steps to edit her photos so recorded some actions and now is offering them for sale.

Original

Now this is not a post advertising for Nichole but more a post to show that editing a photo can sometimes be the thing that makes the difference — and her actions are just what I used in this case. This photo was taken by Papa over the weekend and the one above is the original, no editing. Below you’ll see two color versions and four black and white versions. Let me know which one you like best…

Nichole Van Actions - Color Pop

Nichole Van Actions - Black & White

10 Responses to “The Magic of Editing”


  1. 1 sarah March 13, 2007 at 9:21 am

    First color and third B&W. I’m big on super contrasty, bright colored color pictures and softer b&w. I like the pinkish undertone to the 3rd b&w. Gives it a bit more life.

  2. 2 Marie March 13, 2007 at 9:49 am

    I love the top left picture. I think the red shirt makes all the difference. I I like the red, yellow, brown composition. If she had worn a neutral shirt I might have preferred a b&w picture.

  3. 3 Papa Urchin March 13, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    I haven’t had a chance to play with these new actions yet, but I was trying some similar things with the photo. You can see my edit on Flickr.

  4. 4 Miss*Laurence March 13, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    1st colour pic for me – looks like evening sun haze. I don’t usually think B&W and fuzzy go well together.

  5. 5 laura March 13, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    I like the one at the very bottom right. I like the sharp trees and the black and white.

    And I agree. Flickr is awesome. It’s like a drug.

  6. 6 Blair March 13, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    gosh they are all just gorgeous. I, like the effect of the bottom left one, but I also sometimes like the color red kind of “blown out” for lack of a better term, like the top left. Nice work. I need to learn more about photoshop.

  7. 7 amandajean March 13, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I like the bottom left one a lot…it’s almost sepia toned.

  8. 8 mom March 13, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    I like the original, as does Dad, and the bottom left.

  9. 9 dawbis March 14, 2007 at 11:52 am

    i like the last one 🙂 but they’re all nice, even the original!

  10. 10 Cassie March 14, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    I like the original the best!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives