Un-Knitting

I fully intended to show you a completed sweater today but about 3/4 of the way through attaching the ruffle to the body I realized I must have twisted the ruffle when joining it to knit in the round. Instead of basking in the glory of a finished object I will be frogging the ruffle and starting it again. But the blog must be fed so here is another thing I’m working on.

Doll Quilt to Be

Yes, folks, doll quilt mania has reached our house. In fact, I signed up for Lisa’s doll quilt swap — forget that I’ve never made a quilt in my life. The good news is that my mom is an excellent quilter. Before creating the quilt for the swap I thought I’d do a first run and make a quilt for Katie’s baby doll cradle with leftover fabrics from her quilt. So now I’m just playing with the arrangement while my sewing machine is getting serviced. Okay back to the un-knitting.

6 Responses to “Un-Knitting”


  1. 1 laurie April 18, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    The doll quilt is going to be so cute. Perfect dolly colors!

  2. 2 Sonya April 19, 2007 at 12:25 am

    What beautiful squares, I love those soft colors.

  3. 3 Jennifer April 19, 2007 at 8:42 am

    That is so cute! Sorry to hear about the ruffle, frogging is very unsatisfying.

    Would you do me a big favor and take a picture of how you attach the ruffle?

    I started the main color in the round and I want to do the same for the ruffle, but I cannot wrap my brain around how to modify the joining of the two or adjusting the bind off.

  4. 4 amandajean April 19, 2007 at 10:44 am

    I am so excited for your little doll quilt. If you are going to attempt quilting, a doll quilt is a GREAT place to start. Love the colors!

    sorry your knitting isn’t going as well as you had hoped. (what is frogging???)

  5. 5 Anina April 19, 2007 at 10:53 am

    Oh, I’ve been through the knitting nightmare myself in the last couple of weeks, so I can sympathize. Good luck with that!

  6. 6 Connie April 19, 2007 at 11:09 am

    oh love the colors.

    and recently i’ve been playing around with the idea of making a quilt. [more like, piecing together in a semi-pattern some scraps i have] i’m curious to see how yours turns out… best you lead the way!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives