When It Rains It Pours — Corner of My Home

Daffodils

Sorry for the marginal photos today. Whenever Papa has to travel the urchins seem to get sick. Yesterday Tristan started with a mild fever and all around crankiness due to the impending emergence of his canine teeth. I think one poked through in the night and the fever has subsided. I was hoping that was my only issue but no, Katrina now has a stomach virus, and I am Daffodilkeeping all appendages crossed in hopes that none of the rest of us have it and just don’t know it yet. So this photo was taken in a quick run to the back yard.

But, let’s pretend that the photo is lovely and I’ll tell you about this corner of my home. These daffodils are the descendants of daffodils on my grandfather’s childhood farm, via my father’s childhood home, via my childhood home. They are plain and old fashioned but I love them and that they remind me of my grandparents. The weather here seems like it might be taking a turn for the better. We’ve had torrential rain and wind for the last week or so and while we didn’t see anything like this we have a few small trees leaning decidedly to the left. Here’s hoping that Spring is here to stay.

See more Corners.

7 Responses to “When It Rains It Pours — Corner of My Home”


  1. 1 Anina April 19, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Oh, beautiful daffodils! I planted 100+ bulbs 3 years ago and they’re all gone. No naturalizing here…
    I hope the kids get better soon and nobody else catches the bug (although keeping appendages (especially legs) crossed may help if you do :-D).

  2. 2 Papa Urchin April 19, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    I left the house at 4:50 AM today and had a small nap on the train, but it’s now 8PM and I am still in meetings, groggy from the pizza dinner they had delivered. I am starting think it would be more fun at home with a stomach bug.

  3. 3 Sonya April 19, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    No papa, sick kids; either of these on their own would be hard enough, but together that is rough. Take care.

  4. 4 Marisa April 19, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Love your flowers. It’s great to get a blog entry, even when you’re busy. It is a small acomplishment, but it still feels good to me anyhow.

  5. 5 Papa Urchin April 19, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Ok, now it is 10:45pm and we are still in the same conference room. Maybe, if I am lucky I will be sick when I wake up tomorrow and not have to come back here. Mama, if you don’t hear from me send chocolate.

  6. 6 amandajean April 20, 2007 at 7:42 am

    hope that everyone is feeling better at your house soon! we have had the sickness this week as well, but thankfully my husband wasn’t traveling.


  1. 1 Photographers « Papa Urchin Trackback on April 26, 2007 at 10:31 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives