Done

Here she is in all her glory:

Monica Sweater

Pattern: Monica from Knitty
Yarn: Cascade Sierra in colors 01 and 29
Yardage: less than one 191 yard skein of each color
Needles: US size 7
Gauge: st/in
Modifications: A lot. First of all, I knit the sweater in the round. For the size six sweater this meant I cast on 126 stitches and knit 3 rows in garter stitch. Then I purled the first stitch of the next round, knit 61 stitches, purled 2 stitches, knit 61 stitches, purled 1 stitch. I continued to work in this way until I ran out of yellow yarn about one inch before the length I needed. So, I knit the remaining inch in the lavender. I knit the ruffle in the round as well, casting on 248 stitches for the size six sweater and knitting three rows in garter stitch. I continued knitting all rounds until the ruffle was 2.25″ in length — shorter than specified in the pattern. For the next row I knit the first stitch, knit two together 61 times, knit 2, knit two together 61 times, knit 1. When binding off I accidentally made the straps 3 stitches wide instead of the 4 stitches specified in the pattern. The last modification was I knit the straps the full length — 7″ for the size six sweater — and then used kitchener stitch to attach them to the three held stitches on the back of the sweater.

12 Responses to “Done”


  1. 2 Marie April 24, 2007 at 2:54 am

    It’s lovely! I love the yellow-lavender combination, it’s so sweet. Your daughter looks very happy with it too!

  2. 3 amy April 24, 2007 at 4:35 am

    so cute… it came up a treat!

  3. 4 Jennifer April 24, 2007 at 8:43 am

    That is freakin’ adorable! I have about 4 more inches on my top and then I’ll start the ruffle, I really like the ruffle with fewer stitches, I might have to try that. Using Lion Brand Cotton-Ease in Violet and Lake.

  4. 5 amandajean April 24, 2007 at 9:54 am

    it turned out really really great!

  5. 6 Sonya April 24, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Beautiful! The stripe modification? Looks completely intended. I love it when that happens.

  6. 7 Cassie April 24, 2007 at 11:51 am

    You have inspired me to try an actual piece of clothing and not just scraves and hats. I’m off to the LYS now to get some yarn. Wish me luck!

  7. 8 martha April 24, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    gorgeous. Oh, and the sweater is nice too:)

  8. 9 Connie April 25, 2007 at 6:24 am

    snazy! the ruffle makes her look like a little flower

  9. 10 bekaboo April 25, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    You make me wish I could knit (or crochet, or whatever). She looks too cute!

  10. 11 sUsAn May 4, 2007 at 11:52 am

    That turned out so cut! I have the yarn and pattern right here and must get going on it before summer is here and gone! Thx for posting your modifications. I might do it in the round too now.

  11. 12 Christine Schwender June 1, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Hi…Christine here…designer of Monica. I have to say…the ruffle tank looks absolutely stunning on the beautiful little girl!!! Her smile is priceless…what it’s all about. You should try making her the skirt and really see the smile get bigger (if that’s even possible)! Visit our website, http://www.barefootknits.com for the instruction on how we made the tulle skirt. Our daughters love putting the skirt on whenever they wear their ruffle tank.

    I’ve knit the Monica pattern in the round in the past and it really is a pleasant knit. Your instructions are so easy and clear! Thanks!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives