Corner of My Home

Too Many Choices

So, I am admitting defeat. The current sewing machine is on it’s last leg, actually, probably beyond it’s last leg. So I am in the market for a new one. Ideas? Right now I’m considering a Bernina, a Husqvarna Viking, of a Pfaff. I’ve done test drives on the Berninas and Husqvarna Vikings and right now I’m leaning towards the Husqvarna Viking. The only Pfaff dealers around here are a little far away so I’m not sure when I’ll get to test drive one of those. Advice? Am I looking at the right manufacturers? Are there any feaures you couldn’t live without or wish you had? Any and all advice welcome.

See more Corners.

11 Responses to “Corner of My Home”


  1. 1 Amy May 4, 2007 at 6:36 am

    It really depends on what you want/need… (& how much you are willing to spend) As a quilter I chose a mid-line Pfaff because it has a built in walking foot feature… on a comparable Bernina that is an extra foot that you have to find and attach to use… My previous maching was a Viking & that never staisfied me, nor did the sales ladies in the JoAnnes…

    You are looking at the “right” brands & you will be bale to get a nice machine from any of those brands.

  2. 2 Alicia A. May 4, 2007 at 8:18 am

    I have a Bernina. (activa 240) I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it. It came with a walking foot- which I’ve never used. It does tons of fancy stitches but not the embroidery stuff. The automatic button hole feature is heavenly.

    Good luck with all of the choices, though. I pretty much let my mom make my decision!

  3. 3 amandajean May 4, 2007 at 8:23 am

    I have a JUKI, recommended by my sewing machine repair man. It is a TL-98 Q and I love it. I have had it since October and it sews like a dream. It is a straight stitch only, no zig zag, which I don’t mind, because I mainly quilt and have no need for a one step button hole feature. Since you sew garments, I don’t know if this would be the one for you, but I am impressed with what I bought. (Which is always a great thing after spending a lot of money.)

    Good luck on your new purchase. I know it is a tough decision.

  4. 4 Anina May 4, 2007 at 9:44 am

    I have a more than ten year old Bernina and it will probably NEVER give up the ghost. I LOVE my Bernina.

  5. 5 Carol May 4, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    I have a few machines. An industrial Juki and a Viking are my most used. We had Bernina at school but they never felt right from a comfort level when I used them…although the performance level was always very good. I’ve had my Viking for about 3 or 4 years now and it has been wonderful and so easy to use without any performance issues. It works beautifully on cottons, fine silks and even mid-heavyweight fabrics. It does great buttonholes as well a good-looking top-stitch. I purchased the Juki because I often use very heavyweight / industrial fabrics and it will go through several layers with ease. I will usually go back to the Viking for all of my regular sewing.

    I think you should take several samples, using the type of fabrics you utilize, to the shop and try both brands to see what feels right for you as you sew. Buttonholes, zippers, seam finishes, top-stitching, etc. I spent a few hours doing that before I purchased mine. I think both brands are excellent and good performers. It’s really more of a personal preference based on your needs. Either way, you will have so much fun playing around with your new purchase! Good Luck!

  6. 6 amy May 4, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    i have a janome (the lowest in the memory craft range) and i love love LOVE it… a choice of different one step button holes, completely digital and touch button… decorative stitches that you can mix and match and program in different orders to make different stiches and patterns… it came with loads of different feet (about 7 different feet i think?)… the normal stiches sew like a dream and you can sew zig zag stich up to 7mm wide (beautiful for appliques)… different quilting features… i could go on and on… it’s a little beauty that is the most comfortable machine to sew on… and i will never regret the day i bought it… i could never go back to my old machine…
    my mums also had a janome for about 15 years (?maybe more) that has never been serviced and still sews like a dream…
    http://www.janome.com/product_show.php

  7. 7 mermaids May 4, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    i have a viking lily. if the house was on fire, i would tell the boys to run for their life as i carried my viking to safety. ok, perhaps that is a bit of an exaggeration, but if i *knew* the boys could get out safely, and i had a chance…… ūüôā

    seriously, i’ve had this machine for over 10 yrs. i have sewn literally hundreds of garments with it. never a problem, always a great stitch, no matter what kind of fabric or thread i throw at it.

    teri

  8. 8 kathy May 6, 2007 at 12:05 am

    I have a Janome 6600 which I’m totally in love with. It had all the features I wanted: auto-thread cutter, built-in walking foot, and knee lift. For the price I really can’t believe all it does. I’m extremely happy with the free-motion quilting and it sews like a dream for piecing and clothes sewing. Definitely take samples off actual things you sew. This was very eye opening for me. My previous machine was a Viking Lily which I never quite bonded with. E-mail me if you have more detailed questions.

  9. 9 Jill May 6, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    I bought a Viking Platinum 755 last year, and love it! It has a lot of decorative stitches, several feet – including a walking foot – and is very easy to thread. Nice buttonholes, too. Good luck on your decision!


  1. 1 Quick Skirt « mama urchin Trackback on May 5, 2007 at 7:47 pm
  2. 2 A New Seamstress « mama urchin Trackback on December 28, 2007 at 10:11 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives