A Quickie

Just a quick post today to thank you for all the sewing love. Nichole — the photographer — posted a teaser shot in her flickr photostream of Katie. It’s beautiful. And for those of you who got here by way of Nichole’s photo, just scroll down and you’ll get to the details about the dress and the other stuff I made for the session.

Bucket Hat

One thing I didn’t get made in time for the session but might have been cute is this bucket hat for Tristan. I actually didn’t even consider making it for Saturday since I was planning to make it out of some sort of canvas. But, we’ve been outside a lot recently and I have a fair baby whose head needs covering so I decided to forge ahead with fabric I had on hand figuring I could always make a canvas one later. Knowing this was a prototype meant I did it very fast and didn’t line it or use any interfacing. In other words, the execution is very marginal. Still, it keeps the sun off the baby curls. Now if I could just get him to keep it on his head.

Bucket Hat

Bucket Hat
Pattern: see & sew B4764
Fabric: brown corduroy embellished with vintage train ribbon from Les Bon Ribbon
Yardage: less than 3/8 yard of the corduroy and about 1/2 yard of the ribbon
Size: XL
Modifications: Omitted the lining and interfacing.

5 Responses to “A Quickie”


  1. 1 amandajean May 21, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    that picture of Katie is FABULOUS! wow.

    I love your little bucket hat. I have fair skinned boys that need their little noggins covered up as well. I never thought to make my own, though. the train ribbon is a nice touch.

  2. 2 martha May 21, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    great hat! the ribbon is perfect. and the photo of katie -wow. You definitely need to show us the whole set when you get it.

  3. 3 Morgan May 22, 2007 at 1:19 am

    the hat is so so cute!! I’ve always got Henry is a cap of some sorts- but now I think I might just need to try this!

  4. 4 Connie May 22, 2007 at 7:15 am

    oh i just love that trim.

  5. 5 Anina May 22, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    Wow, that photographer is very talented! The little hat is very cute. And it goes with his outfit!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives