Corner of My Home

Corner of My Home

We’re in the upstairs hallway today. I’ve had a display of photos in a variety of black frames here for a few years. But, they hadn’t been updated in a while — notice not a single photo of Tristan is displayed. So that’s something I’m working on this week. I don’t know about you but this seemingly simple task can be sort of daunting to me. I have trouble figuring out who to put where and then I inevitably print all the photos I want and then I don’t like the way they look. So, I thought of a solution.

The first thing I did was add a bunch of frames to the display so I could still have a good variety. Next I took the photo you see above. I brought the photo into my image editing software — PhotoShop in my case but I think almost any other image editing software would work. I whited out the frames where I want to add or change a photo. Some I knew I wanted to keep as they are.

Frames - White Out

After I did that I had a much clearer picture of what I wanted in each frame. The next thing I did was add some notes.

Frames - With Notes

Now I knew that I needed three individual shots of each of the kids, plus one of our niece and one of our good friends’ kids. I also need to find three of Katie and Tristan together as well as a couple of family ones. So the next step was to identify the photos I wanted to include and then to scale them down to put over the white areas. This is really great because I can see how the wall is shaping up, plus I can also show the draft of the wall to Stefan without printing all the photos.

Frames - Possibilities

So far I’m liking how it’s looking. I still need to figure out which photos to use in a few more spots — the hard part is narrowing down the photos. By the way, if you look close you will see a few more shots from our recent photo session with Nichole.

See more Corners.

8 Responses to “Corner of My Home”


  1. 1 Jennifer June 21, 2007 at 10:01 am

    That is a clever idea! A “good thing” if ever I saw one.

  2. 2 martha June 21, 2007 at 11:04 am

    I love this idea. I have the same wall and same problem, only my “baby” who I have no photos of on the wall, is almost three! Guess I’d better get busy.
    I think I have been procrastinating because it seems so overwhelming. Now I have a plan -thanks Jennifer:)

  3. 4 Anina June 21, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    How very methodical you are. Great idea!

  4. 5 Maritza June 22, 2007 at 9:17 am

    I love that arrangement. It looks great!

  5. 6 Sonya June 23, 2007 at 12:08 am

    That is brilliant. I have a wall o’ photos that will need updating soon – less baby Cyrus and more toddler. Saves nail holes, that’s for sure!

  6. 7 Hanna June 27, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Very cool black frames fitted together like that, and I really like your photoshop idea too!

  7. 8 shannwa July 4, 2007 at 1:31 am

    What a brilliant idea!! We’ve just moved into our first house (as opposed to apartment) and I’m always looking for ideas to make it a “home”. I haven’t gotten to pictures yet, and it’s the most daunting of my decorating tasks. This is so helpful. I can’t wait to try this. Thanks for the tip.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives