Warm Toes

Warm Toes

You’d think it was Winter around here, what with all the mohair, flannel — I went back and bought more — and now these wool socks. But no, we’ve been pushing 90 degrees and the humidity has been over the top. Yesterday we watched Katie’s three-hour dance recital in the HS auditorium with no AC. But back to the socks. They’re cute huh? I started using Kate Gilbert‘s generic sock pattern but realized after I cast on that it was reading the same as the Sock 101 pattern so I switched to that. I did increase the length of the cuff but other than that no changes.

Pattern: Socks 101 (women’s size medium)
Yarn: Unknown Blue Wool
Yardage: less than one skein
Needles: US size 10.5
Gauge: 4 st/inch
Modifications: Increased the length of the cuff.

7 Responses to “Warm Toes”


  1. 1 Rebecca June 25, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Very patriotic looking!

    I received your wonderful jam today!!!! THANK YOU!!! I’m wanting to put it on top of vanilla ice cream…………..

  2. 2 Anina June 26, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Lovely! I have, after three unsuccessful tries, given up on sock knitting. Love the new banner, by the way.

  3. 3 Jennifer June 26, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Nice socks, that is on my “to learn” list along with using double point needles to knit in the round for a hat.

    We got our jam and magazine yesterday and as God is my witness I have never stood eating jam out of a jar with a spoon but I did yesterday 😉 It is delicious! And I have already marked several things to make out of the magazine. Thanks so much for your generosity.

  4. 4 Beth June 26, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    The knitting needles came with the post yesterday. Thank you thank you! Please let me know what I can do to return the kindness.

  5. 5 amandajean June 26, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    nice socks!

    I find myself working on spring things in the winter and winter things in the summer.

  6. 6 kristin June 27, 2007 at 10:05 am

    your socks are quite fantastic! they look so comfy and soft – summer humidity or not. 🙂

  7. 7 Suzanne July 9, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Your socks remind me of a very guilty confession I have to make. Many years ago (well not that many) my mother made a good friend of mine a pair of homemade knit socks. He always believed that I made them. Although I never told him that.

    Many years later (about 15) after he moved to the wilds of British Columbia he told me that he went boating and lost my socks and he was heartbroken. So I phoned my mother and she knit him another pair of socks. I mailed them to him with full intention of finally admitting that I didn’t knit them. I received this incredible email saying that he received my package and cried when he opened it. I don’t have the heart to tell him the truth. Is that so wrong? 🙂

    Suzanne


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives