For Collin

Pencil Roll

This project really showed me where there are color deficits in my stash. I had a panic that I was going to have to run to Wal-Mart at 10:00 last night to search for an orange fabric — I don’t normally shop at Wal-Mart but it was the only place I could think of that would be open. Then I remembered the orange Amy Butler print I just got, good thing. Greens too, had to fudge a little on those. But let me tell you, I’ve got a lot of red. I used a black denim — look in the clearance section for denims, there always seem to be some — to make it a little more rugged. The ties are from one of those ruler/measuring tape fabrics that are around now. I liked the look of the knots so I didn’t even finish the ends.

Pencil Roll and Doodles

Based on Kathy‘s design.

19 Responses to “For Collin”


  1. 1 Alicia A. July 21, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    GREAT crafty gift for a boy! I have such a problem coming up with good boy things.

  2. 2 Beth July 21, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    This is great. I agree with Alicia…a great thing for a boy. I actually just made a simple one for my nephew. It’s definitely not as cool as yours though. I love it.

  3. 3 sally July 21, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Super sweet gift!

  4. 4 Danielle July 21, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    Very nice — I like the denim.

  5. 6 JoAnna July 22, 2007 at 8:34 am

    Definitely THE most gorgeous pencil roll I have seen. I really like what you did with the inside. I dislike Walmart, but do love their fabric section. They have a nice selection and rotate their bargain sections often. I always feel a tremendous amount of guilt when I enter that store, but I still go back. oops.

  6. 7 emily July 22, 2007 at 8:37 am

    this is lovely! such a great gift idea – but i think i’d like to make one for myself, too!

  7. 8 Anina July 22, 2007 at 11:27 am

    It is so lovely, I’m wracking my brain try to think of someone I could make one for. And your mention of Walmart really makes me wish we had one… (for fabric, not clothes)

  8. 9 Shin Young July 22, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    It’a beautiful. Again I hope you didn’t send me my prize yet (remember the frappo bottles). If you have, I’m afraid they really did get lost. If you haven’t you’d better find another prizewinner, because we are packing up here and moving to London. http://amermaidsblog.blogspot.com/2007/07/change-of-address.html

    Thanks again. Shin

  9. 10 Candace July 22, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    That’s so great! I love it.

  10. 11 kirsten July 22, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    well, that is just ridiculously adorable! fantastic.

  11. 12 amandajean July 24, 2007 at 12:13 am

    you did a great job on the pencil roll. I love how the colors of the fabric match the colors of the pencils. (yeah, I’m a big geek!)

  12. 13 molly July 24, 2007 at 9:49 am

    this is SO cool. I love it. and i love the idea of using rainbow colors…

  13. 14 Melissa July 24, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    This is absolutely fantastic! I think my husband would even like one. (He’s an art major in Graphic Design and always has hands on kinds on projects.) I should make these for my kids too. Add another project to the Christmas List.

  14. 15 Di July 25, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    The pencil roll is great! I love the doodle book too! I gave it to my friend’s little boy last year!!

  15. 16 kathy July 26, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Love your combination of colors and the fabric for the pocket. I never get tired of seeing these. Great job!

  16. 17 jen b July 29, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    so very cute. can you come over and help me make one? 🙂

  17. 18 Pam August 8, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    What a cute idea…there aren’t a lot of things to sew for boys. Glad you found the orange Amy Butler fabric (I am using that same one in the wedding quilt http://lastwyf.blogspot.com/2007/03/wedding-quilt.html
    that I am making for my daughter), and that you didn’t go to Wal-Mart. I read recently that after putting many small fabric shops out of business, several of the Wal-Mart stores are closing their fabric departments, leaving many small towns with NO local access to fabric…yikes!


  1. 1 For Abby « mama urchin Trackback on November 5, 2007 at 9:07 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives