For a New Baby

Pink Simple Shoes

More Simple Shoes. I just love this pattern. This time they were made with Manos del Uruguay yarn. My LYS had two pinks — one soft, one electric — and I let the four-year-old pick. Electric pink it is.

Treasure Bag

And for the big sister a treasure bag made from Lamb’s Pride worsted that was a leftover in my stash. The pattern was based on An Evening Bag with Glitz in Knit One, Felt Too. I cast on 42 stitched instead of 60 using US size 10 needles instead of 11 (I don’t have 11 double pointed), omitted the blending filament, knit for 7 inches before the decreases, and used ribbon for the tie instead of felted i-cord. All those changes make me wonder at what point a pattern just becomes your own. Anyway, the bag was given with bouncy balls inside but I’m sure other treasures will be making their way in soon.

8 Responses to “For a New Baby”


  1. 1 amandajean July 27, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    cute! love how you alter the pattern to make it your own. i think the ribbon adds a nice touch to the bag. and kids love to tuck little treasures into things like that. (as you have experienced, I am sure.) the simple shoes are adorable.

  2. 2 Jennifer July 27, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Those are so precious!

    Knit One, Felt Too is the best book. I really want to make the felted lunch bag purse.

  3. 3 Steph July 27, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    I love the shoes! It’s so refreshing to not see pastel pink or pastel blue booties for once. I have a couple balls of red/blue/green/yellow rainbow wool to knit booties from one day…well my mother not me.
    The ribbon on the treasure bag is so cute too!

  4. 4 Anina July 28, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    Oh, what cute little shoes! They look like you could put them in a shadowbox and they would be art.

  5. 5 martha July 29, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    LOVE this color. they look great:)

  6. 6 blair July 29, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    know what, I miss having feet small enough to fit in those around the house.

    well, ok, I miss it for a few minutes : )

    so cute!

  7. 7 Marisa July 29, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    My goodness those tiny socks are too adorable. You inspire me every day to take a knitting class. Your work is stunning.

  8. 8 jonipossin July 30, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    First time visitor! Really enjoyed your posts. I love your daughter’s corner in her bedroom. Are the walls painted or is that wallpaper? I’ll bookmark you so I can follow your creative adventures.
    Joni


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives