Say You Like It

Do you know when you make something and there is that awkward moment when you upload the photo and you wait to see if everyone likes it? I mean, you really like it yourself but that just makes you want everyone else to like it all the more. Well, this is one of those moments. This is the Mama and Papa Urchin contribution to Eireann‘s One in Ten auction.

Doll Bed and Quilt

Papa made the bed and I made the quilt — and a mattress you can’t see. Did you guys know Papa was a woodworker? I forget if I told you that before. He made our kitchen table. What he really likes to do is woodturning. The bed is made from mahogany and fiddle-back maple. Here’s a detail shot:

Doll Bed - Detail

The quilt was made using fabrics from moda’s tiddley winks line, quilting cottons, corduroy, and a few of my favorites — trees, but in cream, and houses — from superbuzzy. Amy‘s scrap x quilt inspired the quilt top. The back is a coordinating turquoise chenille.

Doll Quilt - Detail

A more detailed description and information about the auction can be found at the One in Ten site. The auctions begin on August 19.

EDITED TO ADD: I’ve posted a photo of the doll bed with two softies for scale.

16 Responses to “Say You Like It”


  1. 1 Jennifer August 6, 2007 at 9:40 am

    I really like that! Such impressive talents you and the mister have.

  2. 2 martha August 6, 2007 at 11:01 am

    ILIKEIT!
    I love it, in fact. It is absolutely, amazingly, breathtakingly gorgeous. The bed, the quilt -all of it.
    Such a work of art.
    I would love to see a doll or person next to it for scale.

  3. 3 eireann August 6, 2007 at 11:17 am

    of course I like it. Because it’s wonderful.

    Thank you and thank your husband for all your work. What a thing.

    thank you thank you. xo

  4. 4 Anina August 6, 2007 at 11:19 am

    I love it all! So very cute!
    I do agree with Martha about maybe putting something on there for scale. Although from the background I can surmise that this is a doll quilt and bed, when I first saw it I thought it was full size.

  5. 5 robiewankenobie August 6, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    good golly, molly…are you serious? how could anyone NOT be drooling over that fabulous craftsmanship. wowza.

  6. 6 sheree August 6, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Wow! You two are super talented!! The bed is gorgeous and the quilt looks so rich and luxurious. I thought for a second it was a twin size bed. I saw pics of the table her made–goodness. Gorgeous.

    I’m looking so forward to seeing all the auction goods.

    Sheree

  7. 7 Lisa K. August 6, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    I won’t say I like it because I LOVE IT. What a labor of love.

  8. 8 amandajean August 6, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    It’s very, very nice! I love the fact that you and Papa worked on this project together. How sweet of both of you.

    Still in AWE that Papa made your beautiful table. that is outstanding.

  9. 9 Di August 6, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Both your work and your husband’s work is exquisite!! I am sure that the One in Ten auction is going to do a power of good!!

  10. 11 Tricia August 7, 2007 at 10:37 am

    Oh it is really great! What a fantastic collaboration!

  11. 12 melissa f. August 7, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    whoa whoa whoa. they are beautiful pieces.

  12. 13 marie August 7, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Love it! it’s absolutely amazing!

  13. 14 Alex August 8, 2007 at 4:28 am

    This is some exquisite work, really beautiful.
    And of course I am in love with your kitchentable, it’s awesome.

  14. 15 kathy August 9, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    So sweet, it makes me want to jump in and pull the covers over my head. Did I ever mention I REALLY liked playing with dolls when I was little. I could always say it was for the kids 🙂

  15. 16 faithhopelovehandmade August 13, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    If it came in a real twin – I for one would want one pronto. Nevermind that it would sell for a gazillion dollars! Wow. So beautiful. And the quilt is something totally different than I’ve seen anywhere else – completely grabbed me though. Fantastic.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives