Knee High to a Grasshopper

Finished Socks

Here they are in all their brightness, Katrina’s knee socks are done. I actually finished these just a few days into our trip which gave me some time to start and finish and then start some other projects too — more later this week. I used Kate Gilbert‘s generic sock pattern and Cherry Tree Hill‘s Supersock Merino. They seem to be a little big which I’m happy about — they potentially have a longer life that way. I have a decent amount of yarn left so there may be a pair of ankle socks in this color in the near future.

Knee Socks

Knee Socks
Pattern: 2×2 rib using Kate Gilbert‘s generic sock pattern
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino in colorway bright
Yardage: less than one 420 yard skein
Needles: US size 3
Gauge:
Modifications: The pattern is a formula based on foot size and gauge. What follows are the exact numbers I used to fit my child’s size 10.5 feet:

  • CO 48 stitches
  • Knit in 2×2 rib for 8″
  • Work 22 stitches for 15 rows in stockinette stitch for the heel flap
  • Turn heel by working 2 stitches past center
  • Pick up 10 stitches for the gusset
  • After gusset decrease work in 2×2 rib on all stitches until foot measures 6″
  • Work toe decreases in stockinette stitch until 4 stitches remain on each needle
12 Responses to “Knee High to a Grasshopper”


  1. 1 Amy September 10, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Soooo sweet! I wish I had the patience (and skills) to make socks. I’ve been working on the same cardigan for a year.

  2. 2 Alicia A. September 10, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    They are perfect. Especially with the sweater dress?

    Is it cooling down there yet? The high here today is only 70º F. Woooo hoooo!

  3. 3 Danielle September 10, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Very cute! I hope she likes them 🙂

  4. 4 twiddletails September 10, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    So cute! Why, oh why do I have sock issues?

  5. 5 Sonya September 10, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    Those knee socks are just darling! Love that color way – what terrific sock knitting.

  6. 6 leslie September 10, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    oh my,,,, those are soooo stinkin’ cute!!!!

  7. 7 hiddenart September 10, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    They are wonderful! And how perfect with a pair of Mary Janes.
    amanda

  8. 8 laurie September 11, 2007 at 11:49 am

    Oh my. Absolutely CUTE!

  9. 9 amandajean September 11, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    I love the socks! They are so cute on her. And glad that they are a little too big rather than a little too small. 🙂

  10. 10 Steph September 12, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    They look so good!!

  11. 11 martha September 13, 2007 at 12:00 am

    I love the socks too. And great with that cool dress -love that yellow-gold color.


  1. 1 Some Bootees and a Rattle « mama urchin Trackback on March 6, 2009 at 8:18 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives