Go Fish

One of Katie’s goals for our recent trip was to learn to fish with Opa. I think one of Opa’s goals was for Katie to forget about fishing because he hasn’t been fishing in a long time. He almost succeeded too because the subject was dropped after the first day. But then, as our week was winding down we started hearing about it again.

Fishing

I knew Katie’s idea of fishing was far removed from actual fishing. She is not particularly patient and I think that is a quality that good fishermen and women must possess. But I’ve had this idea rolling around in my head since we created Lilypad Toss to create a fabric fishing game and this seemed like the perfect solution. EDITED TO ADD: I think the idea probably came from Courtney’s post at the beginning of the summer. So this is what we did:

Catch of the Day

The Fish

  1. Draw a fish outline (our fish was about 6″) on the right side of a scrap of fabric — you’ll need two pieces, or one piece folded in half but just one needs the outline — that will hold up in water.
  2. Go into the garage and find a heavy metal washer.
  3. Sandwich the washer between the two pieces of fabric wrong sides together — near the front of the fish works best.
  4. Sew along the outline to trap the washer inside. We hand sewed our fish because the sewing machine was packed away from little hands that were sleeping in the sewing room but the machine would work here too.
  5. Embellish with an eye, face, or stripes in such a way that the washer gets secured down in the tip of the fish’s nose.
  6. Cut out around the outline leaving about 1/4 inch. Pinking shears for this would be nice.

Fishing

The Rod
We used an old fishing rod but this would work just as well with a piece of bamboo or a dowel.

  1. Find or buy one of those super strong magnets
  2. Our magnet had a hole already so we pushed the end of our fishing line through the hole and tied the magnet onto the line.

Then you just toss the fish into the pool and start fishing. It would work in the bathtub too.

Fishing

I’m thinking of making a toy like this for Christmas gifts and if I do that I think I’ll make my fish look similar to these. I’ll also make a fabric hook to hold the magnet. Have fun and I hope you catch a big one!

14 Responses to “Go Fish”


  1. 1 martha September 13, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    fun! and so clever.

  2. 2 sally September 13, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Fantastic idea! Big J is so interested in fishing, but I know he wouldn’t have the patience for it. This is a great alternative! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. 3 twiddletails September 13, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    How clever! I wish I had little kids so I could implement your great ideas.

  4. 5 Wendy September 14, 2007 at 12:59 am

    My daughter and I used to play this game, but with construction paper and paperclips. I love your idea of using fabric, though! It is so great that you did it in the pool, too.

  5. 6 eren September 14, 2007 at 7:55 am

    So great! And you are rocking the knitting needles in the posts below…you have been busy mama!

  6. 7 Sonya September 14, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    That is just perfect!

  7. 8 Jennifer September 14, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    That is the most clever idea! And that is one cute boy in the last post, great job on the sweater.

  8. 9 Jen September 14, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Awesome idea. My kids play with my husbands old fishing pole from Fisher price. It has a little reel and felt fish. The end of the line has velcro. Another idea for when the weather gets cold.

  9. 11 molly September 14, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    you are too good! I love this idea. and i love your fish inspiration, too! thanks for the link!

  10. 12 Steph September 17, 2007 at 1:01 am

    You are one clever mama! And that top photo is just too cute!

  11. 13 sheree September 18, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Another great idea for a toy!! And her swim suit is fab!!


  1. 1 New and Improved - Go Fish « mama urchin Trackback on December 29, 2007 at 6:57 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives