Did Someone Say Possum?

Life is still crazy, the little guy is still suffering with seasonal allergies, Mistress Katrina has a sinus infection which has knocked her flat, and Papa spent our wedding anniversary in Paris, without me. So yeah, still crazy. I’ve decided though that maybe it’s just going to be crazy for a little while so I’m just going to ignore all that for a few minutes while I tell you about some socks.

Possum Socks - Modeled

One day when we were recently visiting Stefan’s parents there were a pair of red socks hanging on the back of a kitchen chair. Stefan’s dad explained to me that they were possum socks that Stefan’s sister brought as a gift from New Zealand after visiting there. Stefan’s mom had fulled them slightly in the wash accidentally but they still fit and he was really happy because he loved them. I think he wears them while hiking.

Possum Socks

About four hours later Stefan’s mom and I were visiting her local yarn store and I was checking out the clearance bin. And what did I find, Cherry Tree Hill possum yarn in blue and red. I laughed so hard and knew right away that I should buy some to make him a gift for his upcoming birthday. A little bit late but here they are — I think he’ll understand the delay.

Possum Socks
Pattern: Earl Grey Socks, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Possum Worsted, in color Bluestone
Yardage: less than three 109 yard skeins
Needles: US size 10.5
Gauge: forgot to check before I sent them but roughly 4.5 st/in
Modifications: These are the changes I made to the pattern given I was using worsted weight wool.

  • Made for a man with a size 9 foot.
  • CO 38 stitches.
  • Knit ribbing for 8 rounds
  • Worked the pattern through once and then through row 11 the second time.
  • 20 stitches for the heel – repeat the two heel rows 9 times (18 rows total).
  • For turning the heel work row 1 as follows : sl1, k12, ssk, k1, turn. Work the remaining rows as written.
  • Pick up 14 for the gussets.
  • After the pick up round knit 49 rows before decreasing for the toe.
  • Decrease until 10 stitches remain.
7 Responses to “Did Someone Say Possum?”


  1. 1 Blair September 29, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    great story, and I love the socks. In fact, I adore all handmade socks! Hope all are better and calmer soon.

  2. 2 amandajean September 29, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    nice job on those socks. what a thoughtful gift. 🙂

    I was wondering how you all are doing there. hope things that settle down soon for you guys…happy anniversary!

  3. 3 twiddletails September 30, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Dear Jennifer,

    I really want to leave a comment, but it may drive me right over the edge… 🙂

    Yours sincerely,

    the sock-talent-deprived one

  4. 4 Marisa October 1, 2007 at 12:09 am

    The color you used is so rich and beautiful. I want a pair!!

  5. 5 Sonya October 1, 2007 at 2:25 am

    Those are some excellent socks and I love the back-story.

  6. 6 chloe July 2, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    I wanted so badly to knit Yarn Harlot’s Earl Grey Socks for a grandson, but had no idea how to go about changing the pattern to fit a man with a size 9 shoe. I am new to sock knitting (with no friends that knit nor a yarn shop in my vicinity.

    Thank you for generously sharing your modifications. I will definitely be using them.
    chloe


  1. 1 Yoga Socks « mama urchin Trackback on July 11, 2008 at 9:29 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives