Happy Birthday Sis

Birthday Gift for My Sister

A bag for my little sister as she turns 29. And a pouch and tissue holder to go inside. I originally thought I had squirrel fabric and was going to embroider an acorn on the bag. I think the bag without embroidery is probably more her style anyway. It turns out she wanted a new handbag for Autumn so she liked it very much. And everyone else — my mom and sister-in-law really — was suitably impressed that I made it. In fact, I think my sister-in-law was hinting that she might like a similar gift for Christmas.

Tissue Holder and Pouch

Pleated Beauty from Amy Karol‘s book Bend the Rules Sewing.

Tissue Holder using this tutorial.

Zippered Pouch – no pattern.

Inside of the Bag

The fabric is brown corduroy, Forest Hedgehogs a Japanese cotton/linen from SuperBuzzy, and Woodgrain by Joel Dewberry from Sew, Mama, Sew!

16 Responses to “Happy Birthday Sis”


  1. 2 delunadesigns October 1, 2007 at 11:18 am

    what an awesome bag! i love that woodgrain fabric.

  2. 3 Jennifer October 1, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    The bag is so cute (I love the hedgehogs) and your socks, so envious. I will learn to make socks this fall!

    And in a complete non sequitur, I saw celery root in your CSA. Ina has a great Celery remoulade in her Paris cookbook and this is also pretty good:
    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/4382
    (I use cream cheese if I can’t find mascarpone)

  3. 4 Nic October 1, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    I’m with your sister-in-law. In fact, if I could give her some advice – Don’t hint. Be blantant. Avoid disapointment. What a great bag!

  4. 5 amandajean October 1, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    what a very nice set to give as a gift. I love the fabrics that you chose and the pieces that you made. nice work!

  5. 6 Abby October 1, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    beautiful. I had a similar plan for my sisters birthday tomorrow. but she nabbed my bend the rules sewing before I could suss out the pattern…. maybe for christams…. lol
    luv Abby

  6. 7 Maritza October 2, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Beautiful job! 🙂

  7. 8 sheree (sheree's alchemy) October 2, 2007 at 10:29 am

    This is so fab–you did a great job, wonderful fabric combo! Happy birthday to your sis. 🙂

  8. 9 twiddletails October 2, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    It’s just lovely. How may people have bags with matching tissue holders and makeup bags?

  9. 10 lovestitches October 2, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    Great bag! That woodgrain fabric is an awesome lining choice against the dark brown outer fabric!

  10. 11 ruth October 4, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    What a fabulous present, lucky girl!

  11. 12 kathy October 6, 2007 at 1:31 am

    LOVE your combination of fabrics. The texture of the corduroy is so fun with the prints. Great fall line up.

  12. 13 Sue October 14, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    What a fantastic present. Your sister is lucky to have you to make presents for her.

  13. 14 natasha October 16, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    why can’t you be myyyyyyy (insert whiny voice here) sisssssteeeerrrrrr?


  1. 1 Making a List « mama urchin Trackback on October 6, 2007 at 4:34 pm
  2. 2 When In Doubt, Give Them What They Want « mama urchin Trackback on January 28, 2008 at 11:37 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives