Pillow Talk

I despise our couch and love seat in the family room. They are threadbare, the springs stick out the backs, they’re an all around mess. But… Papa points out that with a four year old and an almost two year old replacing them might not be the best idea at this moment. So instead I’m making pillows. I think there will be a lot more before I’m through, enough so I don’t have to look at the couch anymore. So this is the first of many.

Pillow

It’s made from a sweater that I felted. I used the ribbing around the waist of the sweater to make a finished edge on the back. But, I sort of liked how it looked and then I thought of some owl buttons I had from Molly. Presto, change-o — back becomes front. Instead of making buttonholes I sewed the pillow shut. I figure I’ll have to take the buttons off the pillow if I’m going to wash it anyway.

11 Responses to “Pillow Talk”


  1. 2 Ravenhill November 6, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Really clever and pretty pillow. I am always looking for ideas how to use old felted sweaters.

  2. 3 Papa Urchin November 6, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Don’t forget they gross stinky dog.

  3. 4 amandajean November 6, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    very nice pillow. great idea covering the couch with pillows.

    but,

    if it’s anything like my house, they will all end up on the floor and be used for jumping in anyway. 🙂

  4. 5 twiddletails November 7, 2007 at 11:54 am

    I love it! Have you thought about making slipcovers for the furniture? I did that with my REALLY ugly living room love seat (what was I thinking when I bought that thing?) and it turned out really well.

  5. 8 Melissa November 8, 2007 at 2:16 am

    Dang cute! I REALLY love the owl buttons- the perfect touch!

  6. 9 Amy November 9, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Love the pillow, you did a great job! Makes me want to go to a thrift store to find a sweater…or accidently shrink one of my husbands ; )

  7. 10 sheree November 14, 2007 at 2:12 am

    great refashion–love it!


  1. 1 A Coughing Corner of My Home « mama urchin Trackback on November 8, 2007 at 11:03 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives