A Bathroom Redo

Thank you for all the get well wishes. I think that they, combined with quite a few doses of airborne jr. and zinc lollipops, made for a quick recovery. So right on cue as the urchins felt better I woke up with a sore throat last Monday. I was working on the premise that if I denied the problem it would go away but now that I’ve lost my voice the only thing being ignored is me. Anyway, sorry for not popping in here to say hello in a while. Stefan’s family arrived last week for Turkey Day and a certain boy’s birthday so we were trying to finish up a number of home improvement type projects. Nothing like company to light a fire under your rear.

Bathroom Redo

High on the list of things that needed to be done was our upstairs hall bathroom. Katrina was, in her words, trying to swing from the towel bar so it needed to be replaced. We decided hooks might be a better solution since they would be easier for the kids to use plus they could not be confused for a trapeze. But since you never know with these two we decided to mount a board to the wall for the hooks to be screwed to — wood is stronger than drywall. We mounted two boards to accommodate a lot of hooks. To make the whole thing look intentional we painted between the boards with magnetic primer and a topcoat of gray.

Bathroom Redo

We bought magnetic photo frames — these are 3.5″ x 3.5″ — and put a black and white photo of each urchin in one. Then we put the frame on the magnetic strip above where they should hang their towels. I’m planning to add some twill tape loops to the towels to make them even easier to hang. We replaced the horrid light fixture that was in there and hung two black and white photos that Nichole took last Spring. I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out although I did say to Papa that if we ever leave this house the new owners will be thinking I was some crazy lady with a magnet stripe in her bathroom. Oh well.

Bathroom Redo

14 Responses to “A Bathroom Redo”


  1. 1 twiddletails November 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    I love it! I’m ready to move from nautical to something a little more sedate.

  2. 2 Thimbleanna November 19, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Very cool! I love the black and white.

  3. 3 Anita November 19, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    You’re not crazy at all. The bathroom looks great!

  4. 4 Melissa November 19, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    I think that’s a WONDERFUL idea! You could even put those magnetic containers up there for all the little girl hair ties and stuff. Cute, Cute, CUTE! The black and white looks so nice in there.

  5. 5 sally November 19, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Love the bathroom re-do. Yes, someone in our family recently mistook the towel bar as a “hanging” bar and now it needs to be replaced. I love the magnetic board! Great idea.

  6. 6 amandajean November 19, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    that is a great looking bathroom! and yes, nothing like company coming to light a fire under one’s rear. hee hee hee. you crack me up!

  7. 7 molly November 19, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    i love it. that is a fantastic idea! i love all the pictures in your bathroom.

  8. 9 sheree November 22, 2007 at 4:51 am

    It looks wonderful–great child-proofing idea. 🙂 The bathroom looks great.

  9. 10 Blair November 22, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    I love how serene it all looks, just gorgeous. Good thinking on the hooks too, we are all about the hooks here. It works.

  10. 11 Robin November 24, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    I love it. Wow. I really do. I want to ask though as I see all these beautiful framed pictures in Blogland, does anyone else worry about condensation ruining the framed photos?

  11. 12 Sonya November 24, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Magnetic primer? I am intrigued. Now I will have to think up a use for it. The bathroom looks great. We’ve opted fro hooks for the exact reason!

  12. 13 martha November 27, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    It’s lovely. I like the magnetic paint -I’ve never heard of it, but now can think of dozens of uses for it….


  1. 1 Children's Bath: Towel Hooks | Remodelista Trackback on July 3, 2008 at 6:19 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives