WIP: Where I Can’t Count and Need Some Help

This sweater in progress is for Katrina for Christmas. It’s using up the end of some yarn that has been in my stash forever. Actually, this is the yarn I bought to learn to knit. It’s a tomten sweater by Elizabeth Zimmerman. The whole thing is knit in garter stitch and the only seams are on the underarms. These are good things. I cannot count, apparently, though and this is a bad thing.

Tomten in Progress

After splitting for those gigantic armholes you are supposed to knit 28 ridges on each front and the back. In the real world that means 56 rows — 2 rows for each ridge — but it turns out that while knitting this sweater I was not residing in the real world. In that parrallel universe 28 ridges equals 46 rows. So that’s what I knit before I joined all the pieces to knit the hood. Well, sort of. On one of the fronts I returned to reality and knit 56 rows and this is where I need some help. I did not realize my error until I knit the entire hood and went to pick up the stitches for the sleeves.

Now if I had been consistent in my error I would be better off. I don’t want to rip back all the way and there isn’t enough red yarn anyway. So what I’m thinking to do is cut the yarn on the longer front, rip out 10 rows, and graft it back together. The problem is that I have no idea how to do this. Help?!?!?!?!?!?

10 Responses to “WIP: Where I Can’t Count and Need Some Help”


  1. 1 twiddletails December 4, 2007 at 11:39 am

    Well, you KNOW I can’t help you with this, but I can wish you good luck and commiserate with your frustration. 🙂

  2. 2 Alicia A. December 4, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    Uh, yeah. Huh? When did you learn to speak Greek?

    wink.

  3. 3 robiewankenobie December 4, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    wouldn’t it be easier to pick up the stitches on the shorter side and just zip out a couple more rows?

  4. 4 Jennifer December 4, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    How about a nice after-market trim sewn around the bottom?

  5. 5 mollyl December 4, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    ummm. i knit, but I’m no help on this one!!

  6. 6 martha December 4, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    sounds like something I would have done too….

  7. 7 RobinH December 5, 2007 at 10:02 am

    What you want is Kitchener stitch, aka grafting. There’s a great video for this in the tips section of the KnittingHelp website. Look at http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/knitting-tips.

    (Here via your comment in the YH blog. I just tried this to finish some socks a few weeks ago. Good luck!)

  8. 8 katie December 5, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    this is adorable…being a beginner here, i wish i could help, but i can not. i just want to send some words of encouragement your way! it looks great, can’t wait to see how you make out!

  9. 9 erin December 6, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    oh, i get what you are saying, but i have no idea how to tell you to do it. i am going to think on it and see if i can come up with something.


  1. 1 The Cut and Weave « mama urchin Trackback on January 1, 2008 at 4:33 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives