A New Seamstress

I couldn’t take the handmade pledge, as much as I wanted to, for this holiday season and part of the reason was I knew we were going to give Katie a sewing machine for Christmas. Back when I was looking for a new machine I visited my local Janome dealer and talked to the owner about their basic starter sewing machines that they marketed to children. Katrina begged for the Hello Kitty sewing machine for weeks — that link goes to Target because Janome doesn’t have the machine on their website. Eventually she forgot about that machine but she still wanted to use mine. So, Papa and I delivered her very own real sewing machine under the tree for Christmas morning. She flipped and our first project together — sleeping bags and pillows for her bunnies.

First Sewing Project
8 Responses to “A New Seamstress”


  1. 1 ellen kelley December 29, 2007 at 1:14 am

    What wonderful little sleeping bags and pillows for those sweet bunnies and how lucky to have her own sewing machine. Happy New Year!

  2. 2 marie December 29, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    I think that counts towards the handmade pledge! What a wonderful gift!

  3. 3 Papa Urchin December 29, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Hmm, while THEIR first project together might have been the sleeping bags, Papa was the one who had to read the manual, put everything together and wind the bobbin while Mama was still sick. I also had to help sew a wide bag – she is in her wide period still; everything is wide from drawings to bags.

  4. 4 Sonya December 30, 2007 at 1:18 am

    That is so fabulous. I want to get my girl a sewing machine, maybe this year. Love the idea of sleeping bags. And as far as papas reading instructions – that’s the way it would be at our house as well!

  5. 5 twiddletails December 30, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    What a great gift! Soon she’ll need her own little blog to share her wonderful projects.

  6. 6 amandajean December 31, 2007 at 1:04 am

    those little sleeping bags are soooooooo cute!

  7. 7 erin December 31, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    jane and kate got a sewing machine too! i am going to have to show them this post for inspiration!

  8. 8 JoAnna January 1, 2008 at 9:19 am

    So, did you get the Hello Kitty? Just wondering because it went on sale here and I grabbed it foor my little ones. Haven’t tried it yet. They still have a couple of years, but it was just so darn cute!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives