The Gifts That Didn’t Happen

Enough with the bragging, don’t you think. How about admitting that I gave Papa yardage of brown wool flannel, wool tweed, and two patterns for Christmas. I heard Katrina ask him Does Mommy think you want to make something with that? Uh, yeah. Merry Christmas and by the way you still need a zipper. The pants and a coat will end up being more like MLK Day gifts.

Unfinished Christmas Gifts

There’s also the holiday gifts for Stefan’s cousins who will be 13 this year. I never know what to get them so I heard from a reliable source that the tweens/teens are into the fingerless gloves. These girls live in southern California so their climate is right for them too. An email exchange with their mom clued me into their favorite colors and a great gift idea was formed. Unfortunately, the first pair didn’t materialize until New Year’s Day and the second pair will hopefully happen this week.

Next offense: My brother was dropping hints all Autumn that he wanted me to make him a sweater. Well, it’s started but there is a long way to go, a really long way. Did I mention that he’s 6’4″? He hasn’t seen the yarn yet, since we haven’t seen him since over a week before Christmas. I hope he likes it because, it’s a whole lot of yarn.

The last and latest gift is for my sister-in-law who celebrated her birthday at the beginning of December. She actually doesn’t have her Christmas gift yet either but I’m not making that at least. She lives in Colorado so she’s getting a pair of warm mittens for the days she walks to work.

6 Responses to “The Gifts That Didn’t Happen”


  1. 1 twiddletails January 7, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    It seems like you will not be idle any time soon. I can’t wait to see photos.

  2. 2 aliciaalferman January 7, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I’m serious this time: this is going to be the year I’m going to learn to knit. You can be my mentor…

  3. 3 amandajean January 7, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    your list sounds kind of like mine…always something to catch up on so there is no time to work ahead. I have a bunch of friends/relatives that have january birthdays and I WAS going to make a few gifts, but once again, I am behind. ugh. I hate that.

    I love the fingerless gloves. and can’t wait to see papa’s pants and coat. you are a brave woman!!!

  4. 4 Sonya January 18, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Ah yes, I can fill a book with yet-to-be-made handmade gifts. I love that you gave him the material and Katrina’s response – classic! Expect a similar post from me next week. Yes, Christmas gifts, that hope to be New Year’s gifts. MLK Day, I don’t know if I’ll even make that holiday. Chinese New Year?


  1. 1 Fetching « mama urchin Trackback on January 14, 2008 at 11:47 am
  2. 2 Cable Cuff Mittens « mama urchin Trackback on December 11, 2008 at 9:07 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives