Squirrely Mittens

Mittens

I made these mittens for my sister. My intention was to make her the mittens and a rubblework scarf using this fabric. Well, I realized that wasn’t going to happen so instead I serendipitously found this squirrel bottle bag — I don’t know anything about this seller, they just had a decent photo — on sale at Oilily. And the best thing is my sister is smart enough to appreciate the handmade and the Oilily, I’m not sure anyone else in my family would appreciate both.

Squirrel and Oak Mittens
Pattern: Squirrel and Oak Mittens by Adrian of HelloYarn
Yarn: Lana Gatto Wool Gatto in colorways 20495 and 2290
Yardage: less than one 165 yard skein of each color
Needles: US size 3
Gauge:
Modifications: I didn’t knit the year on the tops of the mittens, I just knit that part in the natural color.

12 Responses to “Squirrely Mittens”


  1. 1 Felicia January 9, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Wow! Love them ūüôā

  2. 2 aliciaalferman January 9, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    quite possibly the BEST mittens on the planet.

  3. 3 Thimbleanna January 9, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    These mittens are really cute! I’ve been wanting to try some mittens like these. More time. Just need more time. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. 4 twiddletails January 9, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Very cute! Maybe I need another pair of mittens…

  5. 5 Jennifer January 9, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    I-N-T-A-R-S-I-A. I am mega-impressed! Those are really nice, Jennifer. I still say, you and your fam need a store.

  6. 7 Marisa January 10, 2008 at 3:18 am

    Oh Mama U. These are THE cutest ever. If only I could figure this knitting thing out…I haven’t given up just yet FYI. You inspire me to stick with it!

  7. 9 molly January 11, 2008 at 12:29 am

    you are such an amazing knitter. i wish you were my neighbor so i could wander over with my silly knitting questions…you’d be sick of me real fast!

    I have a crush on these mittens.

  8. 10 Sonya January 18, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Those mittens are gorgeous! They go perfectly with the bottle bag.

  9. 11 laurie January 20, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I love those squirrels. Maybe I’ll bet that good at knitting someday.

  10. 12 rosieroyalty October 25, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    wow! these are great!!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives