New [Old] Corner

When I was a little girl my sister and I played school at two of these vintage school desks and chairs. I think we did our homework there too. Actually I’m sure that we did because when I cleaned this one up after getting it out of my parents’ basement I noticed 21 x 5 worked out on the desktop. My parents have the other one in their family room for when Katrina and my niece are there. The girls use it as their coloring station. We have a serious issue in our house with containing Katrina’s artwork/crafting/projects — they’re typically covering the kitchen table and surrounding floor. We’re usually clearing just enough space for dinner and it really gets on my nerves.

New [Old] Desk and Chair

I had forgotten that my parents had two of these desks and I mentioned to my mom that I was going to try and find one like the one in their family room. She reminded me about the other and my Dad and I got it out of their basement last weekend. The canvas box has learning activities in it. My desk and computer are right through that door so we can work at the same time — my work is blog surfing, in case you were wondering. One of my goals this year is to have the house more presentable on a daily basis and I’m hoping this desk will help with Katrina’s mess. I’ve tackled Tristan’s mess too but that corner will have to wait until next week.

12 Responses to “New [Old] Corner”


  1. 1 laurie January 10, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    I remember working on a desk very similar to that. I hope that contains her ‘mess,’ but it doesn’t seem big enough; they generally need the whole room.

  2. 2 twiddletails January 10, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    We have an old school desk that my parents gave Josh when he was born. Ours is probably from the 20’s or 30’s and actually has little holes for ink pots and a fold up seat.

  3. 3 martha January 10, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    “blog surfing”. I laughed out loud at that one. Blog surfing IS alot of work:)
    Nice desk. I’m looking forward to the pictures of it towering with her art supplies…..
    xo

  4. 4 amandajean January 10, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    we just received a school desk from my mother in law a few weeks ago. it has the little half wrap around table connected to the chair. it is fun to have a “new” old piece.

    I also like that your work is blog surfing. 🙂

  5. 5 nova January 11, 2008 at 12:18 am

    I found a “vintage” desk at a yard sale a few months back and my kid won’t have anything to do with it. I thought it sweet and fun, he thought it was confining. But this desk, I think it is absolute perfection. I hope it contains wee messes.

  6. 6 molly January 11, 2008 at 12:28 am

    we have the same desk. it was emma’s first and handed down to mary when emma needed a bigger one. I love it. such a classic. we also have the same canvas tubs to throw toys in.

    i hate to admit how many times i’ve told my girls (while blog surfing) “shhh. mommy’s working!” oy.

  7. 7 Morgan January 11, 2008 at 2:02 am

    The desks are awesome!!

  8. 8 Thimbleanna January 11, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Blogsurfing IS big work LOL! Cute, cute desk — you and Katrina are lucky girls!

  9. 9 sheree January 14, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Just wanted to wish you a Happy New Year–I don’t think I have yet?

    What a sweet little corner for her and I had to giggle at “blog surfing is my work”.

    Talk soon,
    sheree

  10. 10 JoAnna January 16, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    So how did you get hat job, ’cause I think I may have the same resume..:)…I love vintage desks. They are so beautiful and useful! Nice to know I am not alone in the “presentable” desire….

  11. 11 nicole January 17, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I think I have the matching chair to the desk! When I was a child….we had the set….and somewhere in one of our many moves…we somehow lost the desk…and I am heartbroken! I keep asking my for it…telling her that I KNOW she has to still have it because why would we get rid of the desk and keep the chair???? The chair is great…really low back….it has all sorts of paint colors on it now…as both my mom and I have used it for a paint stool! LOLOL

  12. 12 Rachel January 30, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    My mom picked several of these up from a school sale before I was born. I remember working at them, playing school, playing “office”… She is under strict instructions to hang onto them for my kids. I’ll pick them up the day our bigger house is finished. 😉


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives