Made From Scratch :: Granola

I think a lot of people who eat granola make their own. Everyone develops a certain type they like and a lot of times it’s easier to make that type rather than buy it. Our family prefers the maple syrup sweetened variety of granola but we have a hard time finding any granola that doesn’t contain nuts — Papa is allergic — so making it is almost our only option. What follows is an adaptation of a Fine Cooking recipe where I’ve omitted the nuts. You of course can add them back in if you desire.

Granola

6 c dried ingredients (at least 4 cups needs to be old-fashioned rolled oats but the other 2 cups can be chopped nuts or seeds)
.5 c whole-wheat flour
.5 c nonfat dry milk powder
.5 t salt
1.5 c pure maple syrup
.25 c canola oil
1 T vanilla extract

Put all the dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix them well.
In a measuring cup combine the liquid ingredients.

Granola

Pour the liquids into the dry ingredients and stir, stir, stir.
Spray two rimmed baking sheets with non-stick spray — I use silicone mats and just spray the edges of the pan.
Divide the granola between the two pans and spread as thin as you can.

Granola

Bake in the middle of the oven at 300′ F for 20 minutes.
Stir and flip the clumps. Rotate the pans.
Bake for 20 minutes more.
Stir again. It may be ready now or it may need up to another 20 minutes.

Granola

If you smell the slightest burnt smell get it out of the oven because nobody likes to eat burnt granola.
Let it cool and it will harden/dry. Store it in an airtight container.
If you like to add dried fruit you can add it (about 2 cups) after the baking but around here we prefer to add it as we eat it.

Store Bought Granola = $0.28 per ounce
Homemade Granola* = $0.28 per ounce

(* $3.79 for 13.5 oz. bag granola, ** $0.25 per cup rolled oats, $0.35 per cup Organic Whole Wheat Flour, $2.56 per cup Dried Milk, $4.66 per cup pure maple syrup, $1.00 for the salt, oil, and vanilla)

10 Responses to “Made From Scratch :: Granola”


  1. 1 Make and Takes February 21, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I love love love Granola from scratch. I can eat it all day long. It is so fresh and delish! Thanks for the reminder!

  2. 2 ash February 21, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    What? You can make granola? I never thought of that before. I love granola, and it is sooo expensive. Man, what a moron I am. I am so going to try this, it looks easy enough! Thanks.

  3. 3 Katie February 21, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Thanks for the recipe! I was just gathering supplies to make granola myself. I can’t wait to try this!

  4. 4 amandajean February 22, 2008 at 12:02 am

    I made a batch last week…I think I am close to perfecting it to my taste finally. does yours clump together? that’s the one thing mine is missing.

  5. 5 beki February 24, 2008 at 12:15 am

    This looks delish! I’m definitely trying this 😉

  6. 6 Sonya February 27, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    One of these days. I have all the ingredients and I keep reading posts. One day – soon! I can just imagine the heavenly smell of it baking.

  7. 7 laurie February 28, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    We love granola here but I add applesauce to mine since they won’t eat raisins in it.

  8. 8 Emily February 28, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Thanks so much for your “made from scratch” series. Such a great idea and your recipes look wonderful. I love to make granola but I am still looking for a good clumping recipe for snacks. Does your recipe clump?


  1. 1 Made From Scratch :: Yogurt « mama urchin Trackback on February 22, 2008 at 3:50 pm
  2. 2 links for 2008-02-23 « Rob Edwards: Collection of my daily bookmarks: roedward Trackback on February 23, 2008 at 3:19 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives