Two Years

Tristan

Well, it’s that time again. Time to celebrate another year of blogging. Two years I’ve been occupying this little space and inviting all of you to stop by and chat. Jenn Docherty left my first comment — although I admit it was slightly solicited — and Vicki left the second. Back then I think the only people who regularly read this thing were my husband and my mother-in-law. Now, well you guys just blow me away. Anyway, thank you to all of you who stop by, leave a note or just pass through. I’m happy to be a part of this wonderful community. I’ve learned so much, and I’m not just talking about the crafting.

Katrina

Well, as is tradition it seems there should be gifts. So… how about some pillows? I think I’ll make three so that means there can be three winners. Leave a comment and I’ll random number the names after leap day. Let me know — if you can remember — when you first stumbled upon me and my urchins and if you’re really smart, tell me how you got here.

55 Responses to “Two Years”


  1. 1 amy February 28, 2008 at 9:11 am

    yahoo
    I think I have been here for a shortish time- but love the time spent so far…I am thinking I found you via uncommon grace xo Happy Bloggy day

  2. 2 Emily February 28, 2008 at 9:28 am

    I found you fairly recently but I enjoy checking in each day and I’ve slowly been peeking back through your archives. I don’t remember who’s blog I found you through but it was an early post about your virtual quilting bee.

    I have a bad habit of lurking on the blogs I enjoy and not commenting. I vowed just last night that I would stop that so here I am! 🙂

  3. 3 Katie February 28, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Hmm I don’t know exactly when, but I’m pretty sure I found you via Anina. Happy 2 years!

  4. 4 aliciaalferman February 28, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Oh, dear. I have no idea how I found you. I think I started commenting on your csa photos because they were just so pretty. And then came our olive/archie/sweater swap and the rest is history, my friend!

  5. 5 lina February 28, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Well done on your two years! I’ve been following for a while, but not commenting as often as I should…ahem! Really loving the quilting bee you’ve got going.

    Lina x

  6. 6 jen February 28, 2008 at 10:42 am

    i found you recently also! not sure where… just getting into the sewing world, and am adding to my blog list!

  7. 7 Anina February 28, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Happy 2 years. Look how those kids have grown!
    I can’t say for sure how I found you. Back in the beginning I would go through other people’s blog rolls one by one and check out every blog to see if I liked it. In all likelihood this is how I was lucky enough to stumble upon your blog. Either that or you left a comment and I visited.

  8. 8 Nic February 28, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Happy Blog Birthday! I guess I have been checking in since June ’06 originally because I stumbled across a CSA photo on flickr, and wandered on over, and then by getting inspired with your crafting.

    Thanks for sharing your crafts and family with us all.

  9. 9 Sarah February 28, 2008 at 11:24 am

    I’m like Anina…found you about a year and a half ago when I first started reading blogs and would go through my favorites blog rolls or through their links to find new ones to read. I’m sure I’ve found other goodies from your links, too, because you have some good blog friends! I am guilty of being a long time lurker…sometimes I feel you get so many comments it must be hard to read them all, but I know I should tell you how much inspiration you provide. Thanks!

  10. 10 Ashley Ann February 28, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Happy anniversary!

    I just found your blog last weekend (not sure how, I seem to end up with 10 new blog tabs opened from other places at any given time!). I loved it and spend a while ready back through it. Thanks for being one of my favorite new to me blogs!

    Ashley

  11. 11 beki February 28, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Congratulations on 2 years! May you have many more 😉

  12. 12 Make and Takes February 28, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    I have been coming for months now. Who knows how I got here, a blog from a blog, from a blog, you know the drill. I love your great sewing projects. Keep it up!

  13. 13 Carrie February 28, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I’ve only been reading you a week, but I’m not sure how I found you! I think I started with the Pizza post, so who ever was talking about that sent me in your direction….

  14. 14 Franki February 28, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Thanks for the two years of sharing with us! I haven’t been visiting for all of that time but I have enjoyed looking back in some of your archives! I love your CSA photos…your quilts…well, I love it all! 🙂
    I am not sure how I find you…most likely following a link/blogroll from another blog. And I have been lurking for about six months or more!

  15. 15 Nancy Streicher February 28, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I’ve been reading your wonderful blog for quite some time. I’m fairly certain that I landed here back in late 2006 when I was checking out links on the Posie Gets Cozy blog. I’ve been a loyal reader ever since! Happy anniversary!

  16. 16 sally February 28, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I think I found your site via Martha sometime last year. I’ve really enjoyed your “Made From Scratch” series!!

  17. 17 Jen (sewandsox) February 28, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Congratulations on two years! I honestly can’t remember how I found your blog but I know it was one of the first ‘crafty’ blogs I found and bookmarked. – Jen

  18. 18 karen February 28, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I’ve only recently found your blog, but am thoroughly enjoying reading it!

  19. 19 robiewankenobie February 28, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    i’m not all that smart, ’cause i have no earthly clue how i found you. ::grin:: i think you’ve been on my blogroll for a year, or so.

    i understand how exciting those unsolicited comments can be, my husband doesn’t care about my blog, and my mother-in-law doesn’t have internet access…

    happy anniversary!

  20. 20 Lesley February 28, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Happy Anniversary!

    It is amazing to nurture something inanimate for so long, isn’t it? I mean, kids are one thing…but something virtual?!

    I have enjoyed your blog for quite some time. I can’t really remember how I landed here first. I linked to you one time when my kids and I started collecting coins for bees, inspired by your urchins for chicks post. You even popped by to comment.

    Keep it up…you are lovely.

  21. 21 Sarapheena February 28, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I am a newbie but I never let you blog go un-read when it pops up on bloglines. I haven’t the faintest idea how I got here the first time but I know I “subscribed” immediately! Thanks for sharing with us!

  22. 22 Solveig February 28, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Happy two years! I haven’t been here so long, and I think I found a link to your blog on someone elses blog… I do enjoy being here:)

  23. 23 martha February 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Happy blog b-day:)
    So sorry to have missed you in Baltimore. And sorry to hear about your sick house. But another day we will meet, I am sure:)
    I think you emailed me about selling my children’s clothes way before I had an etsy shop. and the rest is history….
    xo

  24. 24 capello February 28, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    i found you from alicia (the mayfly). she talks about you in real life. and i figured hey, anyone who is friends with alicia is surely someone to read. 🙂

  25. 25 amy February 28, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    i’ve been reading your blog for must be close to 2 years… i can’t quite remember how i got here (pregnancy brain)… but i think it was initially through one of your soup recipes and then i discovered your talent for crafting! congrats on 2 years

    Amy

  26. 26 coffeechris February 28, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Happy Blog o’versary! I am fairly new to your blog and started reading it about 5 months ago. Thank you for all your great words and works! I am a “make from scratch” type and loved your blog topics. I think I got here from WiseCraft or Angry Chicken
    Would love one of those fabulous pillows!

  27. 27 Lael February 28, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    I just found you through “Disdressed”; everything is beautiful in your world!

  28. 28 Sally February 28, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I can’t remember how I found you but it was around Christmas and someone referenced things you’d made. I think a lot of people must link to you and credit you for the super inspiring things you make! 🙂 Happy Blogiversary!

  29. 29 melissa f. February 28, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    happy two years! we are all better for it.

  30. 30 Jamie February 28, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Just found your site today through a link at two strait lines. I’ve really enjoyed looking around. 🙂

  31. 31 sarah February 28, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I think I found you from the first doll quilt swap, but I could be wrong. Happy Blogiversary!

  32. 33 amandajean February 28, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    congrats on 2 years of blogging. I have been reading your site for about a year now. I found your link through blair’s (wise craft) sidebar. 🙂 I love stopping by and checking in.

  33. 34 Heather February 28, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Happy 2 year blogging! I’m certainl glad you have had better perserverance then some of us. I guess I found your blog a little over a year ago when you bought some of my yarn. Or was that 2 years ago? Time flies! Anyway, it has been a joy reading your posts and you have certainly been an inspiration in more ways then one! 😉 Heather

  34. 35 Liz February 28, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Congratulations! I’ve been only been around for a month or two but I’m hooked – you inspire me! I’m pretty sure discovered you through a link on the mayfly.

  35. 36 Kris February 28, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Hi. I found your blog a couple weeks ago and have been quietly lurking cheering you on and trying your recipes – yummy,yummy. I look forward to reading more. I found your blog from Crazy Mom Quilts – and I love your quilt along blocks.

  36. 37 Papa Urchin February 28, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Wow, I think I have been around about two years now and read every post and every comment. It still amazes me what you done with the place. Congrats and keep up the good work.

  37. 38 inga February 28, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Congratulations on 2 whole years!
    I found you about 2 months ago, through Shim & Sons blog, Sally had mentioned your “Go Fish” post, and there you were, I’m so glad to be able to read your blog, thank you))

  38. 39 Amy February 29, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Congratulations on 2 years. I have been reading for about 2 months and ended up here via This Vintage Chica (I think) and then found myself here again looking at the virtual quilting bee.

  39. 40 Quinn February 29, 2008 at 5:43 am

    I been lurking around a few months now. I found you through a link at Posy gets cozy. We are overseas and I was looking for a friendly distraction from rainy days and started to teach myself knitting/crochetting, in doing so I found some great blogs. I every day and love what you do. The ladies here and at some of the other blogs are so much more ‘crafty’ than I could wish to be. I only hope that some of it rubs off on me.

    Congratulations!

  40. 41 Kelly February 29, 2008 at 8:10 am

    I was hooked when I stumbled upon ( can’t quite remember how that happened? ), your beautiful photos! Happy Blogaversary! I look forward to your continued inspiration! ~

  41. 42 Jennifer February 29, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Happy Blogiversary! I found your site through Happythings regarding the LIttle Pea. I have learned so many things from your blog and been plenty inspired too.

  42. 43 emily February 29, 2008 at 10:09 am

    congratulations on 2 yeras! how and when did i find you? i have no memory of that whatsoever. it feels like you’ve just always been there, you know?

  43. 44 Marcia February 29, 2008 at 11:07 am

    I’ve just discovered you this past month. I found your site through Amanda Jean’s Quilt a Long. Happy Blog Anniversay.

  44. 45 Yvonne February 29, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Two years?! That´s good going. I´m impressed. I´m a fairly new regular – a couple of months ago I went blog-hopping. Just clicking on “favoriteblogs” on the blogs I visited – and there you were – and there I stayed.. or at least kept coming back to. Have a great anniversary!

  45. 46 Robyn February 29, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    I haven’t been reading for long, but I found you through House on Hill Road, and the quilt-along. I love it! Thanks!

  46. 47 Sonya February 29, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Congratulations on hitting the two year mark! Gosh I can’t even remember the how or the when. I’m just glad that I’ve made the connection.

  47. 48 Grace February 29, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    ack! congratulations! that’s just plain rad. i’m only beginning to discover how much you and i have in common, j, but i think it’s a lot.

    (and i also really want a pillow.)

    xoxoxox

  48. 49 Beth H February 29, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    oh two years! Congrats. So glad you’re here! I love to read your blog and see all your great creations…and cuties.

  49. 50 Laura H. March 1, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Congratulations and happy anniversary! I found you through Martha at UniformStudio. I started dropping by about six months ago.

  50. 51 erin March 1, 2008 at 8:26 am

    congrats to you jennifer!
    i am not sure how i got here, but i do know that i noticed your comments on other blogs and eventually i just clicked on the link. i lurked for a good long while before i said anything, too. i have a tendency to do that….oh well! congrats again – thanks for bringing us all along for the ride.

  51. 52 lisa March 3, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Lots of great browsing and wonderful projects. I’ll be back for more.

  52. 53 molly March 3, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    I have NO idea how I found you! I can’t even remember what we had for dinner last week! haha!

    I’m so behind on blog reading after we all had fevers, aches and pains, colds, the works, last week. Looks like you had a round of it, too!! But happy belated two years of blogging! I’m so, so glad that we’ve not only become ‘cyber friends’ (I hate that word, ‘cyber’) but also friends in real life.

    I’m looking forward to getting together again soon this spring…your house or mine??!

    and while i’m here…you’re “from scratch” posts are amazing. I’m now officially asking for a yogurt machine for my birthday. we go through yogurt like there’s no tomorrow. how much would i love to make it myself?? And with your cost breakdown, I might actually be able to convince my husband to spring for the Williams Sonoma yogurt maker!!


  1. 1 Does anybody…. « mama urchin Trackback on March 11, 2008 at 12:29 pm
  2. 2 Pillow Parcels « mama urchin Trackback on May 7, 2008 at 11:44 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives