Intentional Wonkiness

It’s hard to achieve. This is my block for Kathy‘s quilt — the March quilt of the Virtual Quilting Bee.

Virtual Quilting Bee March

Kathy asked for the blocks to be log cabin in spirit and offered some Gee’s Bend quilt images and the quilts of Nancy Crow as inspiration. I knew I would have to use some solids and after seeing Anina’s block I knew I wanted to do wonky seams — coincidentally the tutorial for wonky seams is by Kathy. I really liked how the variation on strip sizes looked on this pillow top I made so I wanted to go with that design. My idea was for the seams to get wonkier as I progressed through the log cabin. The block ended up way too big so I had to cut it down. It’s hard to pre-cut for the wonkiness too. You can see more of how Kathy’s quilt is shaping up over in the flickr pool.

7 Responses to “Intentional Wonkiness”


  1. 1 erin March 31, 2008 at 8:27 am

    it is hard to precut for wonkiness! your square looks great, jennifer. i think this quilt is going to be a beauty!

  2. 2 Jacquie March 31, 2008 at 11:17 am

    This is so nice. Love the wonkiness. I spent WAY too much time in the flickr group looking at all the blocks. So much beautiful, creative work!

  3. 3 Anina March 31, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    So pretty! I love the wonkiness. I love the word “wonky”, actually. This quilt is going to be lovely, I think.

  4. 4 amandajean March 31, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    yes, I agree with all of your thoughts on wonkiness. (a word that I also love.) hard to achieve. hard to get the correct size for strips, etc. that is why it took me 2 tries on both the first and second months of the VQB. and that is also why I am so completely in love with this quilt.

    this one makes me think of neckties

  5. 5 melissa f. March 31, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    i’m going to have to study that tutorial. those seams are so fancy and good.

  6. 6 kathy March 31, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    I’m getting really excited 😉

  7. 7 raina April 3, 2008 at 9:48 am

    I am in love with Japanese craft books…there is a person on eBay that has a huge selection and I have ordered quite a few from him. I don’t care if I can’t read them…they are beautiful to look at.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives