Japanese Inspiration

Japanese Bookstore Haul

After touching down in LA we headed straight to Kinokuniya to peruse the Japanese books. As far as I know there is no such store near home. While Stefan and Katie found Hello Kitty sticker books I rifled through the craft book section. Knowing no Japanese it was hard to figure out what a book was about by the spine. I still managed to make quite a dent in my pocketbook so maybe it’s better that way. Here’s what jumped in my bag:

Cotton & Paint and Cotton Time Magazines

The March issues of Cotton & Paint and Cotton Time. Does anyone who reads these prefer one over the other? I haven’t decided yet.

Japanese Needle Felting Craft Book

I just love needle felted animals. Who knows if I’ll ever actually make one but the photos in this book are so good and cute I know I’ll be inspired looking through it again and again. Can you see that donkey with the mailbag?

Japanese Waldorf Style Doll Craft Book

This book makes me think of Grace every time I see it. I’m sure she doesn’t need it for the excellent diagrams but the photos in this one are wonderful too. Isn’t that the thing with the Japanese style. I can see making loads of these dolls for the urchins — fairies and gnomes and various other creatures.

Japanese Parent and Child Craft Book

This is the kind of book I walked into the bookstore looking for — a sewing book with children’s clothes. This one has mostly patterns for little girls and Mamas with a little bit of boys/Daddys and home-dec thrown in for good measure.

Japanese Pattern Magic Craft Book

When I picked up this last one I knew I had to buy immediately. It’s not for me though, but for a friend. And I know she’ll like the volume, the texture, and the art of the garments inside.

12 Responses to “Japanese Inspiration”


  1. 1 erin April 2, 2008 at 9:19 am

    i love the japanese bookstores. too bad i have to go to nyc to visit one! i can guess who that last one is for.

  2. 2 Jennifer April 2, 2008 at 9:47 am

    So inspiring! THat dress in the last one makes me swoon!

  3. 3 melissa April 2, 2008 at 10:05 am

    That last one looks like it belongs on Martha’s Uniform Studio journal! Love love love her designs- and those you pictured!

  4. 4 Kris April 2, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Looks like you got some interesting books – you are going to be busy. . .

  5. 5 Crystal April 2, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Ohhh! They look wonderful!

  6. 6 Anina April 2, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Don’t you just LOVE those Japanese craft books? You make me want to take quick trip to Kinokuniya for a fix.

  7. 7 amandajean April 2, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    I am quite sure that your last book is going to martha, too. 🙂 all the books and magazines look wonderful.

  8. 8 Morgan April 3, 2008 at 4:34 am

    Um…hello..I live in LA and have never heard of Kinokuniya. You gots to give me the deets!

  9. 9 Felicia April 3, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Those books look like a tasty stack of inspiration indeed!

  10. 10 capello April 3, 2008 at 9:15 am

    i have one (one!) book and i love it so.

    and this reminds me… i had best research japanese bookstores now for my san francisco trip this summer.

  11. 11 martha April 3, 2008 at 10:29 am

    I used to live in San Francisco, and visited Japantown a lot….and somehow MISSED Kinokuniya! still kicking myself.
    and I have yet to hold a japanese craft book or mag in my hand. but someday…
    and OF COURSE I love the last one. I’ve been seeing images from that book here and there on the net and it looks amazing!

  12. 12 jessica April 6, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I tell you those Japanese craft books are too addicting, but in a good way.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives