Replenishing the Vitamin D

On Thursday my trainer at the gym canceled our session and I was left to decide if we should go to the gym anyway or be lazy and stay home. Lazy won. So I decided the urchins and I would pull the weeds in the veggie garden to get it ready for planting — really, I need to get with it in the Autumn and put the garden to bed properly. Then I wouldn’t have all this Springtime cleanup to do. We got about half of the beds cleaned up before Tristan got stung by a bee and it was lunchtime.

After lunch while Tristan napped I tackled the overgrown lawn. The grass was amazingly high — as tall as Tristan in some places. It took me the entire rest of the day and at the end this is what I was left with:

Almost

So close. Stefan finished it on Friday night and yesterday he mowed the front lawn so we won’t be arrested by the grass police. The thing is you would think all that mowing would be tedious and boring but we had the best time outside all day. The urchins discovered fairy land under the willow tree and spent a lot of time hunting for roly polies I can already tell, this year it’s going to be easier with the urchins outside and I am so excited because after our sick-all-the-time-stuck-in-the-house-winter we need all the vitamin D we can get.

10 Responses to “Replenishing the Vitamin D”


  1. 1 capello April 27, 2008 at 10:37 am

    i’m pretty good at putting the garden to bed in the autumn but when spring comes around, i am totally not jazzed to get out there clean everything up. oy.

  2. 2 Anina April 27, 2008 at 11:34 am

    I have a problem with Fall cleanup myself. It normally starts raining before I get to it. I spent hours soaking up the Vitamin D myself yesterday. It was only our 2nd sunny day this spring.

  3. 3 erin April 27, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    it feels great to get outside, doesn’t it?

  4. 4 Morgan April 27, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Wow- I’m so jealous of your outdoor space! I wish I had a lawn to mow and a garden to plant! Great job moving (it’s hard work, eh!)

    xoxo
    Morgan

  5. 5 John April 28, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Thanks so much for your comments on my blog. I’ve been a big fan of your blog (and your Virtual Quilting Bee) for several months now, so it really made my day to see that you not only looked at my work but took the time to leave such a nice comment. I hope to have some updates on the piecing of that quilt soon … (ack, the birthday is less than a month away!).
    Thanks again,
    John

  6. 6 Jennifer April 28, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    What no quilt pattern cut in the grass? Outdoors is so lovely this time of year.

  7. 7 leslie April 30, 2008 at 11:59 am

    weeding and mowing the grass doesn’t sound like being lazy to me! Sounds like you may have ended up with more of a work out! (Our yard is a hill though…so I avoid mowing like the plague!)

  8. 8 Gina May 2, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    They are so sweet. We have rabbits coming out our ears here but I still never get tired of seeing them, expecially when the little start to run around.

  9. 9 Lisa May 18, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    HELP! My grass has taken beating with grubs this year! Instthis point, I’ve decided to lay down a rock garden of sorts. Any suggestions on vegetation to add to this rock garden? The space is approximately 10′ x 15′. Thanks 🙂

  10. 10 Lisa May 18, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    HELP! My grass has taken beating with grubs this year! At this point, I’ve decided to lay down a rock garden of sorts instead of grass seed. Any suggestions on vegetation to add to this rock garden? The space is approximately 10′ x 15′. Thanks 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives