Noticing

This week Heather and Alicia are asking everyone to be their guest over at the Noticing Project. Alicia was one of my first real blogging friends and I’m really enjoying this new project of hers. And allowing us all to notice and share for a week is such a great idea.

Speaking of noticing, when Papa mowed the front lawn over the weekend he noticed a kind of weird looking clump of fur and leaves carefully arranged in the yard. He pulled it back to find this:

Teeny-Tiny

He thought at first they were baby mice but when he explained what he found to me — I wasn’t home before dark — I was pretty sure they were bunnies. The next day we looked at them again and they are bunnies, I’m sure. The problem is they are smack in the middle of our front yard with no bush or any type of cover around. I’ve had my nose pressed against the front windows for the last two days trying to catch a glimpse of Mama Rabbit. Stefan assures me she’s going back but I’m not entirely sure. So, in order to preserve my sanity I put a dandelion flower on top of the nest to see if it gets moved. Because seriously, I have my own babies to worry about.

9 Responses to “Noticing”


  1. 1 Alicia A. April 28, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Thanks for the mention, sweets!
    Hope that mama bunny comes home soon. They are sneaky, I think.

  2. 2 Christina April 29, 2008 at 1:51 am

    this is so sweet that you are so engaged in the baby bunnies….

  3. 3 Danielle April 29, 2008 at 9:55 am

    I can help with this one! Mama bunnies in the wild will only feed their babies once or twice a day at dusk or dawn or both and will leave them alone for the rest of the day. This is apparently so that they don’t draw attention to the nest. These guys look like they are about a week old, they should be weened in 6 to 7 weeks. Thanks for sharing. Danielle

  4. 4 erin April 29, 2008 at 11:03 am

    we’ve had bunnies many times – the mama is hard to find until the little ones start leaving the nest. then you will see her nearby just watching them make their way.

  5. 6 Sarah April 30, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    They look like bunnies to me! I noticed your new banner ~ is that a quilt that you made? Don’t forget to send me your address ~ I’m ready to mail the PIF/RAK gift!

  6. 7 Yvonne May 4, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I love your babyquilt. I bet the baby will love it. Rabbits in the garden. It sounds so much fun.

  7. 8 pricklypearbloom May 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Coming late to this post, but ohmygoodness! That’s darn cute. Wow.


  1. 1 Baby Update « mama urchin Trackback on April 30, 2008 at 11:22 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives