Baby Update

This is a quilt for some friends that had a baby at the end of last year. I wanted something soft so I made a huge log cabin from blue and green flannels. I backed it with minkee so it will be soft against the little guy whether it’s used as a play mat or a crib quilt. Wow, though, I need to get with the program on getting gifts made in a more timely manner.

Baby Quilt

And an update on the other babies. As of this morning I was fairly convinced that Mama Bunny had not returned since Sunday. So, while the urchins were at preschool we carefully pulled back the leaves and fluff and found that the babies were still there, doing well, and a little bothered that we were disturbing them. After some online research and some info from some of you I felt much better that they were doing fine — i.e. they hadn’t been abandoned/orphaned — and that a rabbit nest in the middle of the lawn is not that unusual. To be safe I moved a plastic Adirondack chair near the nest since someone walking to the front door from the street would probably step right on them. Then tonight as we were heading out after dinner we saw the Mama tending her kittens — did you know baby rabbits are called kittens? Unfortunately, she saw us too so she quickly hopped away but she was watching to see what we did so we just got in the car and drove off. Turns out, she’s a good mama after all.

15 Responses to “Baby Update”


  1. 1 sally May 1, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Sweet quilt! And I’m so relieved to hear Mama Rabbit has returned!

  2. 2 erin May 1, 2008 at 7:45 am

    ooh, that quilt is really cute!
    i am so happy that mama bunny is doing her job after all.

  3. 3 martha May 1, 2008 at 8:59 am

    very cute quilt:)
    we had a bunny nest in our garden last year. I was cleaning out some dead foliage last year and almost pulled them all up!
    I was super nervous since I had touched their fur by mistake, but they were not abandoned either:)

  4. 4 Jennifer May 1, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Very cute quilt. Log cabins are not for the faint of heart!

    Good news on the bunnies, we have an owl nesting in our yard and while I love watching it all play out, “nature is a rough teacher” (to quote a friend) and I’m always unsure how much of that to let a young child see.

  5. 5 capello May 1, 2008 at 9:43 am

    eeek! love the blanket!

    yeah, we have TONS of bunnies and they totally nest wherever they feel like it. we also have to walk around carefully and mark their territory before letting the boys out.

  6. 6 Anina May 1, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Cute quilt!
    I’m SO glad the mama rabbit is taking care of her babies. Yay!

  7. 7 Make and Takes May 1, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Love Love that quilt. I haven’t seen one like that. I will have to remember that one, so different and playful. Thanks for sharing.

  8. 8 Danielle May 1, 2008 at 11:39 am

    I love that quilt, reminds me of the ones my granny made from me when I was a baby.
    Happy to know the bunny are doing good. Thanks for sharing. Danielle

  9. 9 amandajean May 1, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I LOVE the quilt! did you quilt through the minkee? and how did that work?

  10. 10 Jacquie May 1, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    The quilt is very cute. I have the same question as AmandaJean. I’m really curious about how minkee is to work with.

  11. 11 lucy May 1, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    What an incredible baby quilt. I love the green stop sign fabric!

  12. 12 Judy Laquidara May 2, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    What a cute idea to make a large log cabin block for a baby quilt. Love the colors you used.

  13. 13 Christina May 2, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks for the update. I have found myself wondering about those teeny little guys since you posted!!

  14. 14 Thimbleanna May 6, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    This quilt is awesome! I love it!!!!

  15. 15 Judy May 26, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Lovely work!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives