The Go-To Gift for Boys

Remember how I made a few apron sets to have on hand for birthday gifts? Well, they’ve been a huge hit and the birthday parties haven’t stopped. So, I’ll be working on something new to have in the stash soon. This, however, is about the boys. Katie hasn’t been invited to too many boy parties this year but we have had a bit of a run on babies that have big brothers. And any mom of two (or more) knows that gifts for a new baby are always better received when they come with a gift for the big sister/brother too.

Dino Backpack

The dinosaur backpacks are made from the same clearance fabric as Katie’s dino dress. They were super easy to make and I finally got to use some grommets — something I’ve been wanting to do for a while. The contents include all kinds of Dinosaur stuff I got in the dollar bins at Target — grow tablets, stickers, dinosaur skeleton kits, tattoos, etc. I also included a couple of Schleich dinosaur figures. Really, you could find almost all of this stuff at the dollar store. And as a mom I know that I like when Katie gets gifts like this. The stickers and tattoos get used and used up, and then they’re gone. The figures and the skeleton can be played with creatively and won’t be quickly outgrown. And all kids love a bag to put their junk in — I had a lot of trouble getting this one off the model. It’s so much better than another Polly Pocket or Spiderman figure. I also change the contents slightly depending on the recipient. A dinosaur book would be good for an older boy while a dinosaur coloring book and crayons are just right for a younger child.

Dino Backpack - What's Inside
12 Responses to “The Go-To Gift for Boys”


  1. 1 lovestitches May 8, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    what an awesome gift for a new big brother!

  2. 2 erin May 8, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    you give good gifts.

  3. 3 melissa May 8, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    you are freakin’ brilliant!

  4. 4 amandajean May 8, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    what a great idea, jennifer. tristian modeling it is so adorable.

  5. 5 amandajean May 8, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    oops, tristan, not tristian. (I need more sleep.)

  6. 6 amanda May 9, 2008 at 6:23 am

    what a great idea making small backpacks like that. I’ve never made gifts for boys yet, so this would be fast and easy to make

  7. 7 beki May 9, 2008 at 10:34 am

    that’s such a great idea!

  8. 8 Anina May 9, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Cute, cute, cute! I do miss having little boys to give gifts too. Gift cards are the go-to gifts these days. Really boring.

  9. 9 martha May 10, 2008 at 7:09 am

    What a great idea! It looks cute on T:) Did you make the pattern yourself?

  10. 10 Margie May 11, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    love this! How do i make one?! My 4 year old needs this! Help.

  11. 11 Jennifer May 12, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    I would love to get the pattern from you! I have a 6 yr old birthday coming up that these would be perfect for!!! Thanks!


  1. 1 A Whole Lot of Random « mama urchin Trackback on May 14, 2008 at 4:16 pm
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives