What’s With the Weather?

Last evening we were driving home from my parents’ house and had to turn around three separate times because the roads were flooded and blocked by all manner of emergency vehicles. Two other times we only got through a flooded road because we drive a tank that is rated to ford streams up to a depth of 20″ without a snorkel — not my car in that photo. So yeah, it was kind of an intense end to a lovely Mother’s Day.

Who Knew?

Today the rain continued and the temperatures reached a high of 45 degrees. Tristan wore his wool sweater he got for Christmas and Katie asked for a fire late this afternoon. May 12, that is the date, right?

9 Responses to “What’s With the Weather?”


  1. 1 Dawn Morningstar May 12, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Just dropped by to say HI. Was wondering what part of the world you’re in that it is still so cold. Here in Georgia it got down in the 50’s last night, but made it up to 72 today. This feels cold to me since last week it was in the 80’s every day. My mom lives in Missouri. Saturday she found tax forms and other papers that had blown in from the tornadoes in Oklahoma in her back yard. Weird weather!!!

  2. 2 emily May 12, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    funny, i just cleared out the kids’ drawers last week, thinking that it had got warm for good. ha! freezing and sopping wet here, too. tomorrow is supposed to be sunny though, i think. fun knowing you’re around the corner-ish.

  3. 3 inga May 12, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Hello there!!
    1)Happy belated Mother’s Day!!
    2)I got my pillow in mail a couple of days ago, thank you sooo much!! I think my couch is loving it as much as I do!! (I’ll send a pic of it later this week)
    3)I hope the weather will warm up for you soon, it is spring after all, right?))))

  4. 4 Katie May 13, 2008 at 8:15 am

    We had some nasty weather here in the D.C. metro area. I think it rained for 24 hrs straight. Luckily today it’s clearing up and supposed to be 70 something.

    love the sweater, and the picture makes me want to cuddle up in front of a fire!

  5. 5 Anina May 13, 2008 at 9:14 am

    It’s awful isn’t it? We’ve had maybe 3 days over 60 degrees this year. It’s supposed to be 81 on Thursday and we’re celebrating already. If that doesn’t happen the weatherman is will be in SO much trouble!

  6. 6 Heather May 13, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Weather’s weird everywhere. There is something to be said for global warming but I think it’s causing global cooling! We went from 99 degrees down to 50 in a matter of 6 hours! Yikes…

  7. 7 Kris May 14, 2008 at 7:20 am

    This weather just sucks – we debated over starting a fire last night (It got down to 33 during the night). The sweater is so cute – and he looks so serious. Hope it warms up for you again soon.

  8. 8 Liz May 15, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    I think Polaroid, or Kodak, or whoever makes those cameras recently announced that they were ceasing production of the film.

  9. 9 Jennifer May 21, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    I would love a tutuorial on the backpacks. I realize they’re not too hard, but i’m such a visual learner, i really need the pictures. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives