In 12 Easy Steps

Dino Backpack

You can now cover the world in string backpacks. The tutorial is available with a permanent link up there in the header. Please let me know if you make one, I’d love to see how it turns out.

2 Responses to “In 12 Easy Steps”


  1. 1 Alicia A. May 27, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    pool bags for my kids coming up soon.

    thanks, J!

  2. 2 Sally May 28, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I love it! Last week I needed a quick birthday present for a three year old and with just your photo as inspiration, sewed up a small bag. Since I didn’t want to deal with the grommets, I sewed the cord into the side seams at the bottom of the bag. It worked ok, but I’m liking your technique for the casing better than what I did. I ran the cording all the way through both sides, so the child can pull the “straps” to close the bag.

    On your bag, can the child grab the straps and pull it closed? It seems they would have to grab opposite straps for it to close…

    I’ll need to make another! 🙂
    Thanks for the tutorial!!!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives