CSA 2008 – Week 1

CSA 2008 - Week 1

Our CSA started today and we couldn’t be happier. The last few years we’ve been picking up our share at a drop-off site and while these have been theoretically closer they have not been particularly more convenient than going to the farm. The farm is a little farther in miles but picking up there has it’s perks — sometimes we get extras, there are tractors to see, we can throw stones in the creek, and the library is on the way. I’m ready to tackle the greens and I’m determined to use as much as possible this year — I know I say this every year but this year I really really mean it. We got kale though and I’m just not sure we’ll find a use for that. Anybody got a suggestion?

CSA Bag Contents: kale, snow peas, swiss chard, radishes, lettuce, dill, 1/2 doz. eggs, flowers

See what we got in CSA 2007 Week 1.

28 Responses to “CSA 2008 – Week 1”


  1. 1 am June 4, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    bean and kale soup…also add some sausage…like we had lamb chorizo last week with a kick…It would be yummy

  2. 2 sally June 4, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Ooh…that bounty looks so good. I tried this kale + bacon + garlic recipe and it was pretty tasty [I mean really, can you go wrong with bacon?] http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/KALE-WITH-GARLIC-AND-BACON-233008

    You can also dry the kale, grind and sprinkle on popcorn ala veggie booty!

  3. 3 Anina June 4, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Yum! I always enjoy these posts of healthy goodness.

  4. 4 Maribel June 4, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    our CSA has loads of recipe and cooking suggestions.

    http://www.mariquita.com/recipes/kale.html

    • 5 Jenn June 10, 2009 at 12:48 am

      Hey, we belong to the same farmshare! I love the recipe for Kale and 2 potatoe soup from ‘366 healthful ways to eat leafy greens” by Linda Romanelli Leahy. I didn’t have any sweet potatoes around so I used new potatoes and russets and it turned out great.

  5. 6 Stephanie June 4, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Mmm…yum! We love this soup – http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1054843

    We top with grated parmesan and use a mix of ham (Penzey’s) and chicken stock (homemade) as the base – http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/p-penzeyssoupbase.html

    If the kale is the type with tight, crinkly leaves we like to toss with olive oil, salt and pepper, then roast to make kale chips. And I’d agree with the bacon suggestion, though my hubby says the kale tastes too strong this way.

    Best of luck!

  6. 7 Stephanie June 4, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    But in a serious pinch, I like to saute the greens and toss them in the freezer. After enough weeks of CSA greens, you’ll be all set for spanakopita!

  7. 8 emily June 4, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    what are you doing with the chard? need some good advice on that one. (i usually put it into soup. but i’m not making soup this month!)

  8. 9 erin June 4, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    my friend, caroline (http://burrowhouse.typepad.com) makes a great kale soup….

  9. 10 Liz June 4, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I wish we had something like that here! It looks wonderful!

  10. 11 martha June 4, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Do you have “The New Vegetarian Epicure”? There is a good recipe for Greens and Garlic Soup which uses kale and chard. And there is a fantastic recipe for chard and fennel pie.
    If you don’t have the book let me know and I’ll send you the recipes.
    xo

  11. 12 amandajean June 4, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one wondering what you are going to use the swiss chard for. I remember my mom planting that, but since I was 5 at the time I really don’t remember eating it.

    when I think of kale I think of soup, too. I haven’t ever cooked with it though.

  12. 13 Allison June 5, 2008 at 2:28 am

    I’ve found swiss chard and kale to work really well in bean soups, but also made a chilli that included cut up swiss chard last year and it was really good over rice. I find adding lots of carrot to any blended dish with kale helps cut the bitterness.

  13. 14 Sarah, rsm June 5, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Somebodies are going to eat well this summer! Looks delicious ~ good for you!

  14. 15 Kristin June 5, 2008 at 9:54 am

    You can also try and use kale to replace spinach, if you have any good recipes for that already. My favorite way of using kale is in soups, like others have mentioned. It would certainly freeze well to use in the winter instead. Just to had my 2 cents about the swiss chard…it’s great to use in enchiladas or creamed swiss chard is yummy too! We still have a couple of weeks to wait for farm veggies…enjoy yours!

  15. 16 capello June 5, 2008 at 10:20 am

    wow! flowers! i’m jealous! we don’t get flowers in ours!

    for the kale, saute some onions and garlic in olive oil and stir fry the kale. it’s super-yummy that way. also, when it steams when it’s stir frying it takes out a lot of the bitterness of it.

  16. 17 Marie June 5, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Two great, and easy ideas for Kale…I made the cooked one last night…yum!

    Rinse kale fold in half to break woody stem off. Chop into small pieces, approx. 1″ – 2″. Throw in a wok, or skillet with a bit of heated olive oil, allow to wilt for a minute or two. Pour in a little filtered water (maybe 2 Tbsps to 1/4 cup) depending on how much kale you have. Cover and steam until water is cooked off, about 5-7 minutes. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with dried cranberries. Delish! and easy.

    And

    Kale Avocado salad – best explained in this YouTube. Enjoy!

  17. 18 Heather June 5, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    I do the whole soup thing with the kale, potato soup mostly which isn’t always the greatest depending on the weather but it tastes delicious! Sometimes I saute it with bacon but mainly soup, beans and greens soup is good too!

  18. 19 Jennifer June 5, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    If you want to try something unusual try this recipe for crispy kale:
    http://www.marthastewart.com/portal/site/mslo/menuitem.fc77a0dbc44dd1611e3bf410b5900aa0/?vgnextoid=8c5f11f7b8998110VgnVCM1000003d370a0aRCRD&autonomy_kw=fig%20salmon&rsc=header_1

    Yikes what a link! Scroll down to the end of the recipe for the instructions. I really liked it and was very skeptical when I made it.

  19. 20 Mama Stone June 6, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Mm, it all looks so delicious!

  20. 21 sheree June 7, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I am so envious! That will be one of the first things I’ll look for when it is time to move back home.

  21. 22 Eren June 7, 2008 at 9:36 am

    These ARE great suggestions! Thanks for the heads up. Kale and bean soup…mmm…and I am jealous you get flowers with your CSA :(.

  22. 23 leslie June 7, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    your share looks great. We just got our first CSA box and are very excited. We also chose to pick up at the farm, so that we could enjoy the place and meet the people there…visit the animals and wade in the creek. Enjoy!

  23. 24 Shannon June 8, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Kale makes wonderful Pesto.

    http://www.recipezaar.com/234194

  24. 25 Diane F June 8, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    I have planted kale and swiss chard to use in my green smooties. I blogged about them a while back after reading about them on a friends blog. She had lots of great recipes using many different greens. They look icky but taste just like the fruit that you put in them. If I don’t have my spinach smoothie in the morning I am dragging by lunch time. My 13 y/o DS is even drinking them now. Give them at least one try. I mix them in just enough for the day. I haven’t tried the mix a whole blender and save the rest for the next day.

  25. 26 Carey June 11, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    My mom is Portuguese and this traditional Caldo Verde soup is one of our favorites:

    1/2 lb fresh kale, washed, trimmed, shredded finely
    4 oz linguica (or more)
    3 medium potatoes (1 lb) peeled and cubed
    6 cups water
    2 t salt
    1/4 cup olive oil (or less)
    1/4 t pepper

    Prick holes in linguica, put in frying pan, cover with water, high heat till boiling, then simmer on low for 15 min. Drain. Slice into 1/4″ rounds. Set aside.

    Combine potatoes, water and salt in a pot. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cook for 15 min, until potatoes can be mashed.

    Remove potatoes and mash.

    Replace into liquid. Stir in 1/4 cup (or less) olive oil and pepper. Bring to a boil. Add kale. Boil 3-4 minutes. Lower heat. Add sausage. Reheat sausage, 2-3 min.


  1. 1 mama urchin Trackback on June 9, 2008 at 9:39 am
  2. 2 CSA 2009 – Week 1 « mama urchin Trackback on June 4, 2009 at 7:57 am
Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives