Papa’s Day

S&K
photo taken by NicholeVan

I don’t think I could say it as eloquently as others have but today is Father’s Day and I couldn’t let it pass without saying something. Stefan and I were children ourselves when we first started dating and I remember his doubts about what kind of father he’d turn out to be. I never had any doubts, I knew how he’d be and I was anxious to be proven right. Well, I underestimated the depth and breadth of his heart. He is fun and serious; caring and stern; silly and smart. He’s everything I could ever ask for my children.

My Dad and Me

We spent this evening at my parents. That’s a pic of me and my dad, circa 1974. I look just like him. He and I haven’t always seen eye-to-eye — we’re both seriously type A people — and his expectations for me were often unreachable but our relationship really changed for the better once I was out of college and responsible for myself. Having my own children made a big difference too. He has definitely softened and I’ve also realized how we all do the best we can with our kids, and I have no doubt that he did the same. Plus I think he’s proud of me. I’m sure he always was but now I know, even if he isn’t one for saying it. So Happy Father’s Day to all the Papas in my life and all those in yours too.

5 Responses to “Papa’s Day”


  1. 1 emily June 16, 2008 at 6:56 am

    jennifer, that’s beautiful.

  2. 2 erin June 16, 2008 at 8:25 am

    i think you said it quite well. 🙂

  3. 3 pricklypearbloom June 16, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Nicely said!

  4. 4 amandajean June 16, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    I can so relate to your relationship with your father….I think my relationship with mine is identical. right down to the fact that I bet he is proud of me, even if he wouldn’t ever say it.

  5. 5 Papa Urchin June 17, 2008 at 11:43 am

    This just makes papa even more sad to be alone in the city of lights.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives