How About Some Pants

This is Why I Needed That Shirt

I made these shorts for Tristan back in March from black denim and some fabric I got from one of Sally‘s tag sales. I still have not been able to find a shirt to go with them. I have searched everywhere. Actually, that’s not true. Martha offered this shirt as part of her garment-a-day-in-May and in an appropriate size. I even told Hannah and Dawn I would fight them for it. In the end none of us were able to get it though…. hrmmph. So the pattern for the pants is just a basic elastic-waist pant that was shortened to knee-length. If you have urchins a basic elastic-waist pant is just the thing to have in your repertoire. So now, anybody seen a black/white/yellow shirt….

10 Responses to “How About Some Pants”


  1. 1 martha June 20, 2008 at 8:46 am

    I can take a hint……:)

  2. 2 Shanna June 20, 2008 at 9:43 am

    delurking to say: i don’t know what size your boy is but i was checking out old navy online today looking for stuff for my boy. i remembered that there was a shirt(http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=36097&pid=582851) that appears to be white with yellow and black or gray stripes, i can’t tell on my monitor.

  3. 3 sally June 20, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Those pants are too cute. I’m hoping Martha will put more of those shirts in the shop since I know two boys who would love it!

    I cut out a pile of pants/capris for the boys and just need to get my act together before it is fall!

  4. 4 Seis Manos June 20, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I agree that elastic-waist pants are crucial–but not just for urchins! I crank out several pairs each spring and fall, as my son (10) and daughter (5) wear them almost every day. I wear them, too! What could be comfier, cheaper, or easier to sew?

    Tristan looks so happy in his shorts….

  5. 5 Kellie H June 20, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    I thought this white tee from Crazy 8 would go great…it’s has a yellow gas pump on it for the little buses/cars on his cute! pants. I think your little “T” is cuter though =)

    http://www.crazy8.com/shop/dept_item.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524445975252&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374305373101&bmUID=1213980398617&productSizeSelected=0&fit_type=

  6. 6 Amy June 20, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    No advice on shirts except to reiterate someone else’s Old Navy suggestion.
    Cute cute pants, though and cute little guy!

  7. 8 Sonya June 20, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Those are the cutest pants! Perfect pockets.

  8. 9 amandajean June 21, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    I heart those shorts.

  9. 10 mai June 23, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Love the shorts! When in doubt and having trouble finding the right shirt….applique, applique, applique. Have fun!


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives