Francophiles

Last week Papa was in Paris for business. At one time he was going there at least once a month but recently the trips have been more intermittent. We love France. Every time he’s headed over there we make a list of what we want him to bring back. The list varies but always includes clothes for the urchins from DPAM, some magazines for me, and underwear for the urchins from Petit Bateau. Actually one of Stefan’s French counterparts used to tease him about always going to Petit Bateau. Last week Gaétan offered to shop the Petit Bateau sale for us at the end of the month. Who says the French are snobby?

Notre Dame

Unless he is just swamped with work Stefan is always successful with stuff for the urchins. My magazines though have never been successfully procured. It turns out the street stalls don’t stock children/parent or crafty magazines. But this time was different because a copy of Marie Claire Idées now lives with me. The timing was perfect too since the current issue came with a mini-mag about preserving. I don’t speak French but those photos sure look yummy.

Marie Claire Idées

So, now that Stefan has a magazine source I think I need to add another crazy thing to the list and I think that thing should be fabric. Does anybody know where the fabric stores are in Paris?

15 Responses to “Francophiles”


  1. 1 Maren June 23, 2008 at 11:02 am

    So fun to read this. I don’t know any farbic stores in Paris but sure know about DPAM and Petit Bateau. We relocated from Switzerland and guess where I used to shop for my kids. Have a good week!

  2. 2 sally June 23, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Ah, there are some perks to having husbands who travel overseas! I bet there are some great fabric shops in Paris. We’re planning a trip to France next year so I cannot wait to stock up on some French goodies.

  3. 3 melissa June 23, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    oh, I’m jealous. I’m a big old francophile, too.

  4. 4 Dayna June 23, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Oh so jealous!! I love Petit Bateau and LOVE LOVE Marie Claire Idees!

  5. 5 Anina June 23, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    How lucky you are!!! I haven’t been able to find a Marie Claire Idees yet. (OK, I haven’t searched all THAT hard.)

  6. 6 amandajean June 23, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    um, sorry, I don’t know of any paris fabric stores off hand.

  7. 7 erin June 23, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    you should email jane at jane and the ducks. she’s french and goes back every year, i think.

  8. 8 Sonya June 23, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Lucky – I was just thinking that I need to search for a copy of Marie Claire to flip through. I have yet to go to Paris, but I sent my mother to La Droguerie for yarn and have heard tell they are a treasure trove of yarn, buttons, trim, ribbon, beads, jewelry supplies, felt. Fabric though, I can’t confirm. But I thought I would share my tidbit of Must-Visit.

  9. 9 Kirsten June 23, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Love it! We just got back from a trip to France (Provence and Paris) with our son. So nice he can bring you some fun goodies!

  10. 10 Jenny June 24, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Hello there.
    I live just outside of Paris. The main fabric shop area is up near the Sacré Coeur in the 18th arrondissement. There are many, many shops on and around the Place Saint Pierre selling fabrics and remnants etc (it’s a bit overwhelming actually). The two main shops are Tissus Reine and Dreyfus. People tend to refer collectively to these shops as “the Marché St Pierre”. If your husband can’t get up to the 18th, there is a shop called Bouchara right by the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps department stores near the opera Garnier. This store is more central but more expensive. There is also a chain of shops called TOTO which sell fabric at very good prices and in particular they sell african fabric (dutch wax, bazin etc) by weight – there is a TOTO at place de la Madeleine which is not far from the opera. I hope this is enough info for a start. Please feel free to email me if you have any questions.
    Jenny

  11. 11 Jacquie June 24, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I’m thinking we should all take a field trip…Jenny could be the guide…ok, I can dream, right?

  12. 12 sara June 24, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    I’ll be in Paris in 2 weeks and I have been thinkign the same thigns! Wanting to buy marie Claire ideas and to find some fabric shops, seems like jenny answered our question!

  13. 13 sheree July 10, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Hi Jennifer!

    I love France also. We’ll I have only been to Paris and Strasbourg. We plan to drive to Paris in a couple weeks. I’ll look out for fabric shops this time for sure and if I see something I think you’ll like, I’ll pick it up for you. 🙂 I found a bunch of shops in Strasbourg last summer, but the fabric was extremely expensive and honestly, not all that stylish. Paris must be better, but I am sure they are super spendy also.

    Great to catch up on what you and the urchins have been up to. I am in envy of all your CSA goodies. That will be one of the first things I track down when we move back to the US.

    Talk soon,
    Sheree

  14. 14 SierraMoon July 16, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    of course, some French are not snobby !
    (I’m French & living in France LOL)
    as in the previous post by Jenny I confirm that the two biggest are Marché St Pierre & tissus Reine (these last ones also have an online site = http://www.tissus-reine.com/) which are situated right next to the Sacré Coeur. You can find a lot of little fabric stores on the streets going down South of the Sacré Coeur stairs.
    Marie-Claire Idées has a foreign subscription page if you’re interested : http://abonnement.marieclaireidees.com/facturation.php
    their winter issue is always the best one.

  15. 15 SierraMoon July 16, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    oh and by the way
    our greatest kid stores with reasonable prices is Okaïdi 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives