Lemon Beauty

Lemon Beauty

This is my new summer bag. The yellow is a cotton canvas I had in my stash, the Alexander Henry lemon print was on clearance at a local quilt shop. It was a quick version of the pleated beauty handbag from Amy Karol‘s book. This one has no inside pockets and the straps were made extra-long from cotton webbing. The straps are extra-long so I can put the thing over my shoulder/chest messenger bag style when I have to chase a certain urchin at lightning speed. And speaking of urchins, the whole thing is machine washable so I can toss it in the washer when I find half chewed cookies and muddy rocks in the bottom of it.

12 Responses to “Lemon Beauty”


  1. 1 Mandi June 30, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Very cute! Love the pleates and the bright colors!

  2. 2 Tracy June 30, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Quite cute, and Oh how I love yellow right now!

  3. 3 melissa June 30, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    That’s so funny, I didn’t even notice the pleats until now!

  4. 4 Anina June 30, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    So fresh and summery! Very cute!

  5. 5 Dayna June 30, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    I love it! Very summer-appropriate.

  6. 6 erin June 30, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    darling!
    i hear you on the cookie crumbs. that just drives me crazy!

  7. 7 amandajean June 30, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I love your new bag. Isn’t it amazing how much quicker the construction of a bag is with pre-made handles? I bought the rest of the bolt of the same lemon fabric when I found it at JoAnn’s a few months ago and I am hoarding it until just the right project comes along.

  8. 9 Julie June 30, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Great bag & fabrics! I have that book and would like to give that pattern a try if I can ever find sewing time again!!

  9. 10 Sonya June 30, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Those little lemons peeking out! Such a wonderful bag and yes, machine washable is key.

  10. 11 Kirsten June 30, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    What a great summer bag – fun, colorful and cleanable!

  11. 12 nmgnuqbm February 16, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    gHWw7l keyanlmukwjh, [url=http://pgwsikrlodkz.com/]pgwsikrlodkz[/url], [link=http://ckppkjmqwjlg.com/]ckppkjmqwjlg[/link], http://yynkvdoebazi.com/


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives