Yoga Socks

I first met Stefan’s mother, Sabina, after he and I had been dating for about 18 months. We were on summer break from college and before we headed back to school we went to California to visit them. I hadn’t been on a plane since I was 4 years old. I don’t remember being nervous — about meeting Stefan’s parents, I was definitely nervous about the plane — but I must have been. Anyway, I think we had been there a few days when Sabina asked me if I wanted to join her at yoga class. I agreed and we went down to a tiny, old, one-room building that served as a community space. I remember being on the floor in the very dark, very warm room and a spider crawling over my leg.

Yoga Socks

Sabina is committed to yoga although I think she now goes to class in a brighter, cooler, less buggy space. It was her birthday this week and since Stefan’s Dad got handknit socks for his last birthday I though Sabina needed some too. For her though, yoga socks seemed to be just the right thing. The toe and heel are left out so that the wearer doesn’t slip, very clever really. The yarn is some All Things Heather that Heather sent me a while back in a bright green. I based them on a pattern by Claire Herne. Instead of the plain rib she calls for I did a ribbed cable so the socks are a little more interesting.

Yoga Socks
Pattern: Yoga/Pilates Socks by Claire Herne
Yarn: All Things Heather sock yarn
Yardage: less than one skein
Needles: US size 2
Size : n/a
Modifications: I did a cable ribbed pattern instead of a plain rib.

16 Responses to “Yoga Socks”


  1. 1 Jess in MA July 11, 2008 at 10:27 am

    The yoga socks are very cool! That’s what we did to our tights for dance class, sort of a funny stirrup, but very effective and comfy.

    My mother’s name is the same as your Mother-in-law’s! It’s so unique, I’ve never met another and rarely come across it at all! 🙂

  2. 2 Tina July 11, 2008 at 10:53 am

    very pretty. i like the ribbed cable!

  3. 3 Jenn July 11, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Hi,

    I’ve been lurking here for a while now and I must say I really enjoy your blog. I have a list of “daily reads” and you are number two after Soule mama. Thanks for all the great ideas you’ve past along including these socks. I have a few friends who would love these and some long car rides coming up when I can knit. Thanks again.

    Jenn

  4. 4 erin July 11, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    such a great idea! and they are really cute, too.

  5. 5 Jennifer July 11, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Those are so cool! What a great daughter-in-law you are 🙂

  6. 6 nana/sabina July 11, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Yes, Jen is great. I’m glad she put a note on the card, otherwise I wouldn’t have know what I was looking at. My yoga buddies will be envious when I show them the socks. Maybe I’ll even make a pair for Shakti our teacher. And, to Jess in MA, Sabina was my grandmother’s name and I have not met many others over the years. So thank you Jen, both Opa and I love our socks.:)

  7. 7 Julie July 11, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Great socks!! Hopefully this fall I’ll get out my knitting needles again. I tend to take a break during the summer…

    I too love your blog and am grateful for all your inspirational ideas here!!

  8. 8 TD wool design July 12, 2008 at 10:29 am

    what a wonderful idea!
    i love that color. a nice gift!

  9. 9 sheree July 13, 2008 at 6:38 am

    Love these! I have not made socks in years!!! But I may have to give these a try. Love the yarn and that shade of green too.

    Sheree

  10. 10 Sonya July 13, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    What a lovely color and a thoughtful present. I bet you anything they will be the talk of the yoga class!

  11. 11 Em July 13, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    What a great thing to make for your MIL! I’m sure she’s gonna love them. I love the little cables, and that color is great!

  12. 12 amandajean July 14, 2008 at 11:50 am

    those are very cute! I love the green color. and great idea going with the cables. I bet she’ll love them!

  13. 13 molly July 14, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    these make me want to start yoga again…just to wear the cool socks. such a nice gift.
    oh, and i have a niece named sabina. i’ve never met any others by that name….

  14. 14 pricklypearbloom July 16, 2008 at 11:14 am

    oh, that is incredibly sweet. What a great idea for yoga, too!

  15. 15 Leslie Georgiadis October 30, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Your socks are so cool and fun but I do not know how to get them. Could you let me know thanks Leslie

  16. 16 Drivers Master May 19, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Very nice post, I surely love this site, keep it up.


Comments are currently closed.



flickr photos

Mama Urchin. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr

With Friends…

CCFeaturedButton

Archives